UAE Family Sponsorship by Age (2026): Sons to 25, Unmarried Daughters, Study Proof and the Visa Routes When a Son Ages Out

UAE family sponsorship by age in 2026: sons under 25, unmarried daughters, study proof, fees, grace periods and the costed visa routes when a son turns 25.
UAE Family Sponsorship by Age (Dubai, UAE)

Expert-reviewed by BusinessDubai Business Setup Advisors. Written with guidance from licensed UAE company-formation consultants with 10+ years of experience, and fact-checked against official government sources before publishing. Last reviewed October 5, 2026.

A Khaleej Times page from May 2019 still ranks near the top for "sponsor son after 18 UAE", and it says the limit is 18. That stopped being true on 3 October 2022. The UAE Government portal, the Federal Authority for Identity, Citizenship, Customs and Port Security (ICP) and the General Directorate of Identity and Foreigners Affairs in Dubai (GDRFA) all word the UAE family sponsorship age the same way today: sons under 25, unmarried daughters at any age, and children with special needs at any age [1][2][3].

The age is settled, and the trouble sits around it. Three official pages give three different answers on how long a son may stay after his permit ends, from 60 days to six months. Ranking pages are split on whether he has to prove he is studying. And at 25 a family has to pick a replacement visa, with first-year costs that run from nothing (an employer pays) to AED 21,850 for his own Dubai free zone company with one visa.

Since 2013, BusinessDubai.ae has set up companies and handled the residence visas under them across the UAE. This guide covers the rule by age, the study-proof question, what to check at 16, 18, 21, 23 and 24, what no official page confirms, and a costed comparison of the routes at 25. Every figure is labelled as an official fee, a reported rule or our own package price. It is a guide, not legal advice.

Revised on 5 October 2026. This guide has been rewritten in full against current official sources and replaces the earlier version.

Until what age can you sponsor a son or daughter in the UAE?

A UAE resident can sponsor a son until he turns 25 and an unmarried daughter at any age. Children with special needs can be sponsored at any age. The rule comes from Article 54 of Cabinet Resolution No. 65 of 2022, in force since 3 October 2022, and u.ae, ICP and GDRFA Dubai all state it the same way.

The u.ae family page, last updated on 28 September 2026, says an expatriate resident may bring in "his/her spouse, unmarried daughters, sons under 25 years old, and children with special needs" [1]. ICP's residency permit service uses the same words for sons and children with special needs [2]. GDRFA Dubai's service page reads: "Both male and female foreign residents are allowed to bring their family members into the country, including the husband and any children under 25 or unmarried daughters" [3].

Behind those pages sits Cabinet Resolution No. 65 of 2022, the executive regulations of Federal Decree-Law No. 29 of 2021 on the entry and residence of foreigners. The federal legislation portal blocks automated access, so we quote Article 54 as a UAE lawyer set it out in Khaleej Times in February 2025: a resident "may bring in his family members, including the husband and children who have not reached (25) twenty-five, or unmarried daughters", plus "children with special needs, regardless of age" [4]. The Cabinet approved the resolution in April 2022 and it became operational on 3 October 2022 [5].

The table sets out the rule for each child as the official pages state it [1][3][4].

ChildSponsorship runs untilCondition the official pages stateCondition they do not state
SonHis 25th birthday ("have not reached 25")Proof of kinship, suitable housing, a medical test once he has completed 18Study, employment status, being unmarried
DaughterNo age limitShe is unmarriedStudy, an upper age
Child with special needsNo age limitPer regulations issued by the ICP chairmanAn upper age

Read the last column as carefully as the others. "Not stated" means the three pages are silent, and silence on a government page is weaker than a written exemption. That distinction decides the study-proof question further down.

Why do some pages still say 18 or 21?

Before 3 October 2022 a son could be sponsored to 18, with renewals for up to three more years if he was enrolled at a university, so 21 in practice. Cabinet Resolution No. 65 of 2022 replaced that with a flat limit of 25. Pages written before the change, and newer pages copied from them, still describe the old staging.

The National described the old rule in August 2022, a few weeks before the new system started: sponsorship to 18, then renewal for three more years with university enrolment [5]. Amer247, a Dubai typing and immigration services centre, described how that worked at the counter. Past 18 the permit was issued a year at a time, renewable for two more consecutive years against a graduation certificate or a university continuation letter [6].

Before 3 October 2022Since 3 October 2022
Son, base limit1825
Son, with study proofRenewable to about 21No study condition on the official pages
Permit length past 18One year at a time, as Amer247 reportedTied to the sponsor's permit, never longer
Unmarried daughterNo age limitNo age limit

Of the 19 ranking pages we read in October 2026, one still gives 18 as the limit and two present "18, then 21 if studying, then 25" as if it were today's structure. One of those is a law firm page from November 2025 and the other a guide published in July 2026. If the page in front of you mentions 21 at all, it is describing a system that ended four years ago.

Common Mistake: Booking a son's exit, or starting a rushed company setup, at 18 or 21 because an article said his sponsorship was ending. Check the date on the article first. Anything published before October 2022 describes the old limit, and u.ae's family page, updated 28 September 2026, says "sons under 25 years old" with no staging [1].

Does a son aged 18 to 25 need to prove he is studying?

No official page says he does. u.ae, ICP and GDRFA Dubai each state the age limit for sons with no study condition, and GDRFA's document list for the family residence permit has no enrolment certificate on it. Some typing centres and consultancy pages still describe one, because it was required before October 2022.

GDRFA's page for the family residence permit lists three documents for the sponsored person: a recent colour photograph, a passport copy and "a decent medical examination approved by the concerned authorities if they are over (18) years old". Its conditions are suitable housing and proof of kinship [3]. There is no study certificate anywhere on it. Article 54, as quoted in Khaleej Times, carries no education condition either [4].

The ranking pages do not agree with each other. Among those we read, two state that a university enrolment certificate is needed at every renewal from 18, and a consultancy service page says the limit of 25 applies only "provided he is enrolled in higher education". Four others, one of them a law firm, say or imply that no proof is needed under 25. None of the pages that require a certificate points to an official source for it.

What we can say with confidence is narrow. The condition existed under the old rule, the three official pages do not state it now, and a counter clerk working from habit may still ask. Two counters in the same centre can give two answers.

Pro Tip: If your son is enrolled anywhere, carry a current enrolment letter to the renewal anyway. It costs nothing and ends the conversation. If he is not studying and the counter asks for one, show the GDRFA service page on your phone, which lists a photograph, a passport copy and a medical examination for over-18s [3], and ask the centre to put the extra requirement in writing before you pay.

So a son of 23 who is neither studying nor working fits the wording of all three pages. Whether a particular centre processes him without questions is a separate matter, and it is the reason to apply early enough to visit a second centre.

What does it cost to keep a son on your sponsorship until 25?

In Dubai the government fees are small. GDRFA lists AED 240 for a family residence permit applied for from outside the country and AED 740 from inside, and ICP charges AED 100 per year of validity plus AED 100 for the Emirates ID. Medical testing and health insurance sit on top and are priced by the provider.

The fee lines below are the ones GDRFA Dubai and ICP publish [7][3][8].

Cost itemAmount (AED)Notes
Entry permit, son outside the UAEAbout 230AED 200 plus 5% VAT, plus AED 10 Knowledge and AED 10 Innovation Dirhams. Valid 60 days from entry
Entry permit, son inside the UAEAbout 730The same lines plus a AED 500 in-country fee
Residence permit, applied from outside240AED 200, two AED 10 Dirham fees, AED 20 delivery
Residence permit, applied from inside740Adds the AED 500 in-country fee
Each year of validity beyond two100GDRFA's issuance fee rises by AED 100 a year past two years
Emirates ID100 per year, plus 100ICP card fee per year of residence, plus a smart service fee
Medical fitness test, from 18Set by the test centreRequired once he has completed 18. No fee on the pages above
Health insuranceSet by the insurerA listed document. No minimum cover figure on the pages we could reach
Renewal, year three onwardsSame lines againA renewal repeats the residence permit, Emirates ID, medical and insurance lines

Typing centre charges are extra and vary by centre, so ask for an itemised receipt. Figures of AED 500 to 600 are often quoted for an entry permit applied for from outside the country. GDRFA's own lines add up to about AED 230 [7].

Quick Math: A two-year renewal for a 22-year-old already in Dubai is AED 740 for the residence permit plus AED 300 for a two-year Emirates ID (AED 100 a year and the AED 100 service fee), so AED 1,040 in government fees before the medical test and insurance [3][8]. From 18 to 25 that is three or four renewals, depending on your own permit length.

The sponsor's side is short. You need a salary of AED 4,000 a month, or AED 3,000 plus accommodation, a certified lease or proof of ownership, and medical insurance or a health card for him [1][9]. GDRFA's wording covers "both male and female foreign residents", and its family page lists no higher salary and no father's consent letter for a mother sponsoring her children [3]. The full document list and the application steps are in our UAE family visa requirements guide, and this article does not repeat them.

What should you check at 16, 18, 21, 23 and 24?

Nothing legal changes at 16 or 21 under today's rule. At 18 the medical fitness test starts. At 23 you are looking at what is probably the last full renewal, and at 24 the family should choose the replacement visa, because the grace period after the permit ends may be only 60 days.

Son's ageWhat changes or needs checkingWhere it comes from
16Nothing changes. Note the expiry date of your own permit, because his can never run past itu.ae general provisions [9]
18Medical fitness test on issue and renewal. Old pages say sponsorship ends here; it does notu.ae family page [1]
18 to 24, studying abroadMore than 180 continuous days outside the UAE voids a residence visa, with an exemption for students at universities abroadu.ae general provisions [9]
21Nothing changes. This was the old study-extension ceilingThe National, 2022 [5]
23Likely the last full renewal. Read the expiry date printed on the new permit against his 25th birthdayGDRFA fee note on two-year permits [3]
24Pick the route for 25 and start the slow parts: job search, degree paperwork, bank statements for a company routeThe routes table below
Final monthsLine up the new sponsor before the dependant permit is cancelled, and plan on a 60-day windowGDRFA family page [3]

Your own permit matters as much as his age. u.ae's general provisions say "the expiry date of the dependent's residence visa will not exceed that of the sponsor" [9]. A father whose employment visa expires when his son is 23 years and 4 months is renewing the son's permit then, whatever the son's birthday.

The age of 23 deserves a closer look. GDRFA's fee note implies a standard two-year permit, with AED 100 more for each year beyond two [3]. A two-year permit issued shortly after his 23rd birthday would, on paper, run a little past his 25th. None of the official pages says whether the system shortens it to the birthday. Read the expiry date on the permit when it is issued, and if it is unclear, ask the centre which date governs.

Pro Tip: At 24, count backwards from the birthday. A free zone investor visa at IFZA or Meydan Free Zone needs the shareholder to show AED 75,000 in a bank account, and a statement in his own name takes time to build if the money currently sits in yours. An employment route needs an offer letter. Starting either in the final month leaves no room for a rejection.

What happens on the day a son turns 25?

On his 25th birthday a son stops meeting the condition for family sponsorship, and the official pages disagree on how long he then has. GDRFA Dubai's family page says 60 days after the permit expires or is cancelled. u.ae's family page says six months. Plan on 60 days.

None of the pages describes the mechanics at the birthday: whether a permit with months left to run is treated as valid to its printed expiry, or whether it must be cancelled when he turns 25. The safe reading is that the basis for his residence ends at 25 and the replacement should be ready by then.

The three official statements on the grace period are below, with the date each page was last updated or fetched.

SourceWhat it saysDate
GDRFA Dubai, family residence permit"The grace period to stay inside the country after the expiration of the residence permit or its cancellation is (60) days" [3]Page read 5 October 2026
u.ae, residence visa for family members"Dependents are granted a 6-month grace period from the date of expiry or cancellation of their visas to obtain a new residence permit" [1]Updated 28 September 2026
ICP, cancellation of residency permits60 days for residence permits "issued with a guarantor or host"; 180 days for Golden, Green and Blue Residence holders "and their family members" [10]Updated 11 December 2024

ICP's tiers offer one way to reconcile the other two. A son on an ordinary employee's sponsorship holds a permit issued with a guarantor, which is the 60-day tier. A son of a Golden, Green or Blue Residence holder falls in the 180-day tier. On that reading GDRFA's 60 days is the figure for most families and u.ae's six months describes the longer category. That is our reading of three pages, and none of them says it in those words. u.ae's general provisions page, also updated 28 September 2026, describes grace periods of "up to 6 months (according to resident category)" [9].

We would plan on 60 days and treat anything longer as a bonus to confirm in writing. Our visa cancellation guide covers the order in which the old permit is cancelled and the new one issued.

Quick Math: A family counts on six months and the 60-day tier turns out to apply. Days 61 to 180 are 120 days of overstay at AED 50 a day, which is AED 6,000, plus a AED 100 smart services fee on the payment [10]. Paying the fine does not fix his status either. He still has to move to a new permit or leave.

Which questions does no official page answer?

Four questions that matter to families have no official answer in October 2026: whether a son can stay past 25 while studying, whether a Golden Visa holder's son has any age limit, which grace period applies to a dependant, and whether a divorced or widowed daughter can return to a parent's sponsorship.

QuestionWho says whatWhat u.ae, ICP and GDRFA sayWhat to do
Can a son stay past 25 if he is still studying?AWS Legal Group, a UAE law firm, writes that parents may continue with proof of enrolment in a higher education programme of at least one year [11]Nothing. All three give a flat limit of 25 with no exception listedAsk GDRFA or ICP in writing before his last renewal. Do not plan a degree around it
Does a Golden Visa holder's son have an age limit?Khaleej Times reported in August 2022 that Golden Visa holders have "unlimited family sponsorship" [12]. Ranking pages contradict each otheru.ae's Golden visa page, updated 28 July 2026, says holders can sponsor "spouses and children" and gives no age [13]Ask ICP or GDRFA for the rule on your own category
Is the grace period 60 days or six months?See the table in the previous sectionThey disagreePlan on 60 days
Can a divorced or widowed daughter go back on a parent's sponsorship?No source we could find, official or professionalNothing. The pages say "unmarried daughters" without defining the termAsk before she gives up her current visa

On the first row, the law firm may well be right in practice. Our point is narrower: one firm's page is the only place we could find the exception written down, and the pages a GDRFA officer would work from do not carry it. A son who starts a two-year master's at 24 on the strength of it is taking a risk the family should price, which leads to the student residence route below.

Some guides say graduates get "a 180-day grace period after completing studies". The nearest thing we found is ICP's cancellation page, which gives 180 days to "students after completing their studies" [10]. That phrase sits in a list of permit categories, GDRFA Dubai's own student permit page gives 60 days [14], and neither says it covers a son whose residence is under a parent.

Real Talk: On the Golden Visa row, be suspicious of confidence. Three consultancy pages we read state flatly that a Golden Visa removes the age limit for sons, and a law firm page says Golden Visa sons face the same thresholds as everyone else [11]. They cannot all be right, and the only dated source for "unlimited" is a news report from August 2022 [12]. If your plan depends on it, get the answer from ICP against your own file number.

Which visa routes are open to a son at 25?

At 25 a son needs residence in his own name. The realistic routes are a student residence sponsored by his university, an employment visa paid for by his employer, a freelance permit with a residence visa, or his own company with an investor visa, which costs AED 21,850 in year one at Meydan Free Zone with one visa.

The table compares the routes on what each requires and what it costs in the first year. Government fees are GDRFA Dubai's, package prices are BusinessDubai.ae's, and anything marked as advertised is a market price we have not verified [14][15][16][17][22].

Route at 25What he needsFirst-year costLengthThe catch
Student residence, sponsored by the universityEnrolment at an accredited institution, medical test, health insuranceGDRFA permit fee AED 240, or AED 740 from inside the UAE, plus the university's own chargeIssued against enrolmentThe university's administration charge is not a government fee and is not published in one place. Consultancies advertise all-in totals of AED 5,500 to 8,500
Employment visaA job offer from a UAE employerNil to him. The employer bears the visa cost and may not recover itRuns with the jobEnds with the job
Freelance permit plus residenceA permit in an approved profession, then a visa on itDubai Development Authority licence AED 7,500 plus Knowledge and Innovation Dirhams, licence only. Providers advertise AED 12,000 to 26,000 with residenceRenewed with the licenceOne visa, his own, in an approved profession
Own free zone company, investor visaA licence, plus AED 75,000 shown in a bank account at IFZA or MeydanAED 21,850 at Meydan Free Zone with one visaTwo years, renewed with the licenceAnnual licence renewal, corporate tax registration
Second visa on a parent's existing licenceA parent who already owns a company with visa quotaAED 3,200 to 6,550 at package level, depending on the zoneTwo yearsDepends on the parent's licence staying alive
Green VisaA skilled job at AED 15,000 a month, or self-employment income of AED 360,000 a year for two yearsGDRFA permit fees onlyFive yearsFew 25-year-olds meet either test
Golden Visa, outstanding graduateTop grades from a recognised universityNot costed hereTen yearsThe published GPA figures conflict
Jobseeker visit visaBachelor's degree, and a top-500 university within two years or MOHRE skill level 1 to 3Fee and guarantee not on u.ae's page60, 90 or 120 daysA visit, not residence. No work until an employer sponsors him

Two rows cost him nothing or close to it, and they are the ones to try first. If he has a job offer, the employer applies and pays. If he is mid-degree in the UAE, the university can hold his residence, GDRFA lists completion in 48 hours for the permit, and the question of studying past 25 on a parent's file never arises [14].

The freelance row needs care with the numbers. The AED 7,500 is the Dubai Development Authority's licence fee for its freelancer and sole professional licence, and the residence visa, medical test, Emirates ID and insurance come on top [15]. Our freelance permit versus company comparison works through when the permit stops being the cheaper choice.

For the wider menu, including property and remote work routes that rarely fit a 25-year-old, see our guides to the cheapest UAE residency visas and the ten ways to get UAE residency. If you would rather have the routes priced against your son's actual position, we will do that with you.

Check your eligibility→

What does the company and investor visa route cost for a son?

A Dubai free zone company with one investor visa costs AED 21,850 in year one at Meydan Free Zone on BusinessDubai.ae's package price, or AED 22,200 at IFZA on a partner price. A Dubai mainland company with one visa is AED 24,400. Year two is roughly 80% of year one in a free zone.

This is the route families reach for when there is no job and no degree in progress, because it does not depend on anyone else. The son owns a company, the company holds the licence, and the licence carries his two-year residence. Whether he runs it in a free zone or on the mainland changes the price and who he can invoice. Our free zone company setup page itemises the Dubai zones with and without a visa, and our mainland company setup page covers the route he needs if his customers will be Dubai consumers or government bodies.

Cost itemAmount (AED)Notes
Meydan Free Zone, licence only12,500No visa. Three activities, three shareholders
Meydan Free Zone, licence with one visa21,850The first visa adds AED 9,350
IFZA, licence with one visa22,200A partner price. IFZA publishes no prices of its own
Dubai mainland, licence with one visa24,400AED 18,200 in year one without a visa
Capital proof for the investor visa75,000 shown, not paidReported at IFZA and Meydan: a bank balance in the UAE or his home country
Year two, Dubai free zone with one visaAbout 16,800Roughly 80% of year one. Cards and deposits can sit outside the headline
Year two, Dubai mainlandAbout 15,000Licence renewal
ANC Free Zone, Ajman, licence with one visa11,600Not Dubai. The cheapest complete package we price

All package figures are BusinessDubai.ae prices as of October 2026 [22]. If he will never need a Dubai address, ANC Free Zone in Ajman is the cheapest complete package at AED 11,600 with one visa, and our business setup in Ajman page shows what that buys and what it does not. The residence visa is a UAE visa either way.

Real Talk: The line most families miss is the AED 75,000. At IFZA and Meydan Free Zone the shareholder applying for an investor visa is reported to need at least AED 75,000 showing in a bank account, in the UAE or at home. It is proof, and the zone does not take the money. A 25-year-old with no savings history has to hold that balance in his own name, so move the funds and let the statements build well before the application.

A company bought for the visa is still a company. It has to renew its licence every year, register for corporate tax with the Federal Tax Authority and file a return. Corporate tax is 0% on taxable income up to AED 375,000 and 9% above it, and Small Business Relief is available for revenue up to AED 3,000,000 for tax periods ending on or before 31 December 2029. The penalty for registering late is AED 10,000 [22]. Our guide to UAE investor visa requirements covers the visa side in full.

Quick Math: Residence from 25 to 28 through his own Meydan Free Zone company is AED 21,850 in year one and about AED 16,800 in each of the next two, close to AED 55,500 over three years [22]. If he lands a job in month four, most of the first year's spend bought four months. This route is poor value for a son who expects to be employed within the year, and good value for one who will trade through the company.

Can you add a son to your own company licence instead?

Yes, if you own a UAE company with visa quota, and it is usually the cheapest paid route. At package level a second visa adds AED 3,200 at IFZA and AED 6,550 at Meydan Free Zone or Dubai South, against AED 21,850 for a new Dubai free zone company of his own.

Those figures are the difference between the one-visa and two-visa packages on BusinessDubai.ae's price sheet [22]. No zone advertises them as a line item.

Zone (Dubai)One-visa package (AED)Two-visa package (AED)Second visa adds (AED)
IFZA (partner price)22,20025,4003,200
Expo City21,85025,3503,500
Meydan Free Zone21,85028,4006,550
Dubai South21,85028,4006,550

Treat the last column as a planning figure. It is derived from package prices at setup, and a zone may price a visa added part-way through a licence year differently. There are also two ways to put him on the licence. He can be employed by the company, which uses one unit of its visa quota and makes the company his employer. Or he can become a shareholder and take a partner visa, which needs a share amendment that the zone quotes separately. Our pricing sheet has no figure for that amendment, so ask the zone for it in writing.

Quota is the first thing to check. A package with one visa has no room for a second person until the allocation is raised, and our guide to visa quotas in free zones explains how zones tie quota to office type. Adding a visa to a licence you already hold, renewing it and keeping the establishment card valid is the work our post-setup services team does, including the sequencing so his dependant permit is cancelled only once the new one is ready.

Quick Math: A parent with an IFZA licence and one visa pays about AED 3,200 more for a second visa at package level. A new Meydan Free Zone company for the son costs AED 21,850 [22]. The gap is about AED 18,650 in year one. The price of the cheap option is dependence: if you close the company or let the licence lapse, his residence goes with it.

Is the Golden Visa or Green Visa realistic for a 25-year-old?

Rarely. A Green Visa needs a skilled job paying at least AED 15,000 a month or self-employment income of AED 360,000 a year for two years. The Golden Visa for outstanding graduates needs top grades, and the published thresholds conflict: one consultancy gives a GPA of 3.75, others give 3.5 or 3.8 depending on the university.

ICP's Green Residence Guide, updated 12 September 2026, sets out three categories. A skilled employee needs a job at MOHRE skill level 1 to 3, a bachelor's degree and a salary of at least AED 15,000 a month. A self-employed person needs a MOHRE self-employment permit, a degree or specialised diploma and income of AED 360,000 a year for the two preceding years, or proof of financial solvency. An investor or partner needs a paid share of at least AED 1,000,000 [16]. The visa runs five years with no sponsor, and our Green Visa guide covers each category.

A graduate in his first job at AED 15,000 a month qualifies. Most do not, and the self-employment test needs two years of income history he is unlikely to have at 25.

The Golden Visa for outstanding students is the generous one on paper. u.ae says it grants "5 years for high school achievers; 10 years for top university students", against certificates of excellence and recommendation letters [13]. The page gives no GPA.

SourceThreshold it givesDate
u.ae, Golden visa page"Top university students"; no figure [13]Updated 28 July 2026
EGSH, a Dubai visa consultancyGPA 3.75 or higher; 95% for top high-school graduates [18]Updated 30 September 2026
Several consultancy pagesGPA 3.5 at class A UAE universities, 3.8 at class B, 3.5 from a top-100 university abroad, within two years of graduatingVarious, 2026

We could not reach an official page that settles it. A graduate with 3.8 or above clears every version. One with 3.6 clears one version and fails the other two, and should get the figure from ICP before building a plan on it. Our Golden Visa guide and our student to entrepreneur transition guide cover the application once eligibility is clear.

Can a visit visa buy time after 25?

Yes, for a few months and without the right to work. u.ae lists a jobseeker visit visa of 60, 90 or 120 days that needs no sponsor, for degree holders who graduated from a top-500 university within two years or work at MOHRE skill level 1 to 3. Overstaying any visa costs AED 50 a day.

The jobseeker visit visa suits a recent graduate. u.ae's page, updated 28 September 2026, sets three conditions: a bachelor's degree or equivalent, either MOHRE skill level 1 to 3 or graduation from one of the best 500 universities in the world within the last two years, and "the prescribed financial guarantee" [17]. It is single entry and needs no host. The page gives neither the fee nor the guarantee amount, so take both from GDRFA or ICP.

An ordinary visit visa is the other stopgap. Its fee and length depend on the type and the channel, and we do not quote them here. On either visa he is a visitor, cannot be employed and is not a resident for the gap.

The cost of misjudging the dates is simple arithmetic. u.ae says overstay fees for visit, tourist and residence visas are "standardised at AED 50 per day" [9], and ICP adds a AED 100 smart services fee when the fine is paid [10]. Thirty days late is AED 1,500 plus the fee. Our overstay fines guide explains why paying the fine does not regularise his status.

A visit visa is a bridge to a route in the previous table. Used without one, it only moves the same deadline 60 to 120 days down the road at extra cost.

How does the rule work for daughters?

An unmarried daughter can be sponsored at any age, with no upper limit and no study condition on u.ae, ICP or GDRFA Dubai's pages. The condition is that she is unmarried. Once she marries she no longer fits the wording, and her residence has to move to her husband's sponsorship or her own visa.

The wording is consistent: "unmarried daughters" on u.ae, "unmarried daughters" on GDRFA, and Article 54 as quoted in Khaleej Times [1][3][4]. A daughter of 30 who works nowhere and studies nowhere fits it. So does one who has finished a doctorate.

GDRFA's document list for the family residence permit does not include a certificate of unmarried status [3]. Some guides say daughters of 18 and over need proof of unmarried status from Dubai Courts. We found no source for that. One consultancy page says an undertaking may be asked for. If a centre asks, get the request in writing, as with study proof.

On marriage, the official pages describe no procedure and no deadline for telling the authorities. The practical order is to have the husband's sponsorship or her own employment visa ready, then cancel the dependant permit. Do not let a permit run on a condition she no longer meets.

A daughter whose marriage ends is the gap. Whether a divorced or widowed daughter counts as "unmarried" for a return to her father's or mother's sponsorship is not addressed on any page we could find. The provision people confuse it with is different: u.ae grants a widowed or divorced woman a one-year extension of her own residence, renewable once, without a substitute sponsor [9]. That concerns a wife whose sponsor was her husband.

Can a son studying abroad stay on your sponsorship?

Yes, while he is under 25 and does not stay away too long. A UAE residence visa is nullified after more than 180 continuous days outside the country. u.ae lists an exemption for expatriate students at universities or institutes abroad, with the note "as per Dubai rules", so confirm how it applies outside Dubai.

u.ae's general provisions page states the rule and the exemption together. A resident who "lives outside the UAE for more than 180 days continuously" loses the residence visa automatically, and the exempt groups include "expatriate students studying in universities or institutes abroad (as per Dubai rules)" [9]. The qualifier in brackets matters for a family whose permits were issued in Abu Dhabi or Sharjah. Ask ICP whether the same exemption applies to your file.

The page does not list the proof required. Under the older practice Amer247 described, a son studying abroad needed a continuation letter from his university, attested by the UAE Embassy in that country and then by the UAE's foreign ministry [6]. If you rely on the exemption, have that letter ready before he flies back, and keep his entry stamps showing a return inside each 180-day window where the term dates allow it.

Common Mistake: Treating the 180-day absence rule and the grace period as the same clock. The absence rule runs while his permit is valid and he is abroad. The grace period runs after the permit expires or is cancelled and he is in the UAE. A son who has been away for seven months may have no valid residence to renew, and bringing him back means a new entry permit at about AED 230 from outside the country [7], if he is still under 25.

Do children of determination have an age limit?

No. u.ae, ICP and Article 54 of Cabinet Resolution No. 65 of 2022 all allow children with special needs to be sponsored regardless of age, so a son of determination can stay on a parent's sponsorship past 25. Article 54 leaves the detail to regulations issued by the ICP chairman.

The text of Article 54 as quoted in Khaleej Times reads "children with special needs, regardless of age, in accordance with the regulations issued by the ICA Chairman" (ICA is ICP's former name) [4]. Neither u.ae nor GDRFA's family page lists the evidence required. AWS Legal Group, the UAE law firm, lists a disability card from the Ministry of Community Development or the emirate's equivalent, a medical assessment and proof of ongoing care needs [11]. Treat that as one firm's list and confirm it with GDRFA or ICP for your case.

Get the documentation recognised before he turns 25, not after. Once the permit is issued on that basis, a renewal at 26 is a routine renewal. An application that begins after 25 has to prove the exemption and regularise his status in the same step.

What happens to a son's visa if the sponsor changes job, leaves or dies?

His permit depends on yours. u.ae states that a dependant's residence visa cannot outlast the sponsor's, so when your visa is cancelled his has to be cancelled or moved too. ICP lists a AED 5,000 guarantee where a sponsor cancels without cancelling the family members' permits.

A job change is the common case. Your old residence is cancelled, the new employer issues another, and the dependants are re-sponsored under the new one. ICP's cancellation service lists a "guarantee fee" of AED 5,000 for sponsor cancellation without family member cancellation [10]. The page does not explain the refund conditions, so ask before you rely on it. Time the move so your son's 25th birthday does not fall in the gap, because a re-sponsorship that would be routine at 24 is unavailable at 25.

The same link explains why a father's residency type matters. If you hold a Green Visa, ICP says you can sponsor family "in accordance with the approved requirements" and names no separate age [16]. A Khaleej Times report from 2022 said Green Visa holders face the same limit of 25 for sons [12]. What you do gain is time afterwards: ICP's tiers give family members of Green and Golden Residence holders 180 days after expiry or cancellation [10].

If the sponsor dies or the parents divorce, u.ae grants a widowed or divorced woman a one-year extension of her residence, renewable once, with no substitute sponsor, and her children's permits cannot run longer than hers [9]. A son of 24 in that position has, at most, the remainder of that extension and his own birthday to work with.

Can a sponsored son work or run a business before 25?

A dependant's residence permit is a right to live in the UAE and does not authorise employment. The Ministry of Human Resources and Emiratisation (MOHRE) lists a work permit for people sponsored by a family member, which sits on top of the family visa. A son can also form his own company before 25.

MOHRE's service list includes "work permits for dependents sponsored by family members" [19]. We could not open the page to read its fee or conditions, so take those from MOHRE or from the employer's PRO, who files the application. The useful point for planning is that a son of 22 with a job offer does not have to leave your sponsorship to accept it. Whether the employer prefers a full employment visa is a commercial question for them.

On the business side, BusinessDubai.ae's Meydan Free Zone package is priced at AED 12,500 without a visa and AED 21,850 with one [22]. That split allows a company to be formed at 24 with the visa added close to the birthday, so he has a trading record and a bank relationship before his residence depends on it. Ask the zone whether a shareholder holding a dependant visa can be allocated the investor visa later without re-applying.

Is the age-25 rule different in Dubai, Abu Dhabi and Sharjah?

The rule is federal and identical in every emirate, with sons sponsored to 25 and unmarried daughters at any age. What differs is the channel. Dubai-issued visas go through GDRFA Dubai and its Amer centres, while Abu Dhabi, Sharjah, Ajman and the Northern Emirates use ICP's smart services.

Amer Center's own guide says its centres handle only Dubai-issued visas and that the other emirates run on the federal ICP system [20]. Two practical effects follow. The fee lines in this article are GDRFA Dubai's, and ICP's can differ for a file in another emirate. And where a Dubai page carries a qualifier, such as the student exemption to the 180-day rule being "as per Dubai rules" [9], a family in Sharjah should confirm it with ICP.

Real Talk: Whatever the emirate, do not act on a verbal answer about study proof, grace periods or fees. One Trustpilot reviewer of a Dubai typing centre wrote in March 2026 that "incorrect information" there cost an extra AED 5,000 on a visa application [21]. That is a single review and we cannot verify it. The remedy costs nothing: ask for the requirement and the fee breakdown in writing before paying.

Real Client Stories

These are composite examples built from the situations parents of adult sons most often face. Names and details are illustrative, and the only figures used are published rules, advertised market prices and BusinessDubai.ae's package prices.

The six months that were sixty days

Ravi's father, an engineer in Dubai on an ordinary employment visa, read on u.ae that dependants get a six-month grace period and planned his son's job search around it. Ravi turned 25 in March with no offer. GDRFA Dubai's family page gives 60 days, and ICP places guarantor-sponsored permits in the same band. Had the family run to the full six months, days 61 to 180 would have cost AED 6,000 at AED 50 a day. They moved Ravi to a jobseeker visit visa inside the 60 days and he signed a contract in the third month.

Lesson: plan on the shorter official figure, and confirm the longer one in writing before you rely on it.

The company bought a year too late

Omar, 24, was freelancing informally for overseas clients from his parents' home in Sharjah. The family chose a Meydan Free Zone company with one visa at AED 21,850 and started six weeks before his birthday. The investor visa needed AED 75,000 showing in an account in his name, and the money sat in his father's. Building statements took longer than the time left, so Omar exited and re-entered on a visit visa while the file caught up. Forming the licence at 24 for AED 12,500 and adding the visa later would have avoided the gap.

Lesson: at IFZA and Meydan, the bank balance has to be his, and it takes time to show.

The second visa on a father's licence

Karim's father owned an IFZA company with one visa. Karim was finishing a degree at 24 and wanted two years to build a design practice before deciding on his own licence. A new company would have cost about AED 22,000 with a visa. At package level, a second visa on the father's licence adds AED 3,200. The family checked the quota first, had the zone quote the visa mid-year in writing, and timed the cancellation of Karim's dependant permit for the week the new one was approved. His residence now depends on his father's licence renewal.

Lesson: the cheapest route ties his visa to your company, so diarise your own renewal.

Your next steps

The age is fixed at 25 for sons, and the decisions that cost money sit either side of it. Before 25, renew on time, carry an enrolment letter if he has one, and watch your own permit's expiry. At 24, choose the route and start its slowest step. After the permit ends, work to 60 days unless GDRFA or ICP tells you in writing that your category has longer.

If the route is a company, the choice is between a Dubai free zone company setup from AED 21,850 with one visa, a mainland company setup at AED 24,400 with one visa, or a second visa on a licence you already hold. BusinessDubai.ae has completed 700+ company registrations since 2013, prices each option itemised with the year-two figure beside it, and will tell you when an employment or student route makes the company unnecessary. Our post-setup services team handles the visa processing, the renewals and the handover from a dependant permit to his own.

Talk to a setup expert→

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I sponsor my son after he turns 18 in the UAE?

Yes. Since 3 October 2022 a resident can sponsor a son until his 25th birthday under Cabinet Resolution No. 65 of 2022. The only change at 18 is that he must pass a medical fitness test when the permit is issued or renewed.

Does my son have to be a student to stay on my visa between 18 and 25?

No official page says so. u.ae, ICP and GDRFA Dubai state the limit of 25 without a study condition, and GDRFA's document list has no enrolment certificate. Some typing centres still ask out of habit from the pre-2022 rule, so bring an enrolment letter if he has one.

Can my 23-year-old son stay on my sponsorship if he is unemployed and not studying?

On the wording of the three official pages, yes. They require that he is under 25, that you prove kinship and housing, and that he passes the medical test. None lists employment or study as a condition.

Can my son stay on my visa after 25 if he is still at university?

That is not confirmed. One UAE law firm, AWS Legal Group, writes that sponsorship can continue with proof of enrolment in a higher education programme of at least one year. The u.ae, ICP and GDRFA pages list no such exception. The dependable route is a student residence sponsored by his university.

Which law sets the sponsorship age at 25?

Cabinet Resolution No. 65 of 2022, the executive regulations of Federal Decree-Law No. 29 of 2021 on the entry and residence of foreigners. Article 54 covers family members. It was approved in April 2022 and became operational on 3 October 2022.

Is there a grace period after my son's family visa ends at 25?

Yes, but the official pages disagree on its length. GDRFA Dubai's family page says 60 days after expiry or cancellation, u.ae's family page says six months, and ICP gives 60 days for permits issued with a guarantor and 180 days for families of Golden, Green and Blue Residence holders. Plan on 60 days.

What is the fine if my son overstays after his visa ends?

AED 50 for each day after the grace period, plus a AED 100 smart services fee when the fine is paid. Sixty days of overstay is AED 3,000. Paying it does not give him a new status.

Can an unmarried daughter be sponsored at any age?

Yes. u.ae, ICP and GDRFA Dubai all say "unmarried daughters" with no upper age and no study condition.

What happens to my daughter's visa when she gets married?

She no longer meets the "unmarried" condition, so her residence has to move to her husband's sponsorship or to a visa of her own, such as employment. The official pages give no deadline for the switch. Arrange the new sponsor first, then cancel the dependant permit.

Can a divorced daughter go back onto her father's sponsorship?

We could not find an answer on any official page or from a named law firm. The pages say "unmarried daughters" without saying whether that includes a daughter whose marriage has ended. Ask GDRFA or ICP before she gives up her current visa.

Does a daughter need a certificate proving she is unmarried?

GDRFA Dubai's document list for the family residence permit does not include one. One consultancy page says an undertaking may be requested. If a centre asks, have it state the requirement in writing.

Can a Golden Visa holder sponsor a son over 25?

It has been reported, and it is not confirmed on a current official page. Khaleej Times wrote in August 2022 that Golden Visa holders have unlimited family sponsorship. u.ae's Golden visa page, updated 28 July 2026, says holders can sponsor spouses and children and states no age. Ask ICP or GDRFA about your category.

Is the age limit different for a son sponsored under a Green Visa?

No separate age appears on ICP's Green Residence Guide, which says family can be sponsored "in accordance with the approved requirements". A 2022 Khaleej Times report said Green Visa holders face the same limit of 25. Their family members do get a longer grace period, 180 days on ICP's tiers.

Can a mother sponsor her son instead of the father?

Yes. GDRFA Dubai's page says "both male and female foreign residents" may bring in their family, and it lists no higher salary and no consent letter from the father for sponsoring children. The income floor on u.ae is AED 4,000 a month, or AED 3,000 plus accommodation.

What salary do I need to sponsor my son?

AED 4,000 a month, or AED 3,000 a month plus accommodation, according to u.ae and GDRFA Dubai. You also need a certified lease or proof of ownership and medical insurance for him.

How much does it cost to renew my son's dependant visa in Dubai?

GDRFA Dubai lists AED 740 for a residence permit applied for inside the country, and ICP charges AED 100 per year plus AED 100 for the Emirates ID. A two-year renewal is AED 1,040 in government fees. The medical test, insurance and any typing centre charge are extra.

What does the entry permit cost to bring my son in from abroad?

About AED 230 on GDRFA Dubai's fee lines: AED 200 plus 5% VAT, plus AED 10 Knowledge and AED 10 Innovation Dirhams. If he is already inside the UAE a AED 500 in-country fee is added, making about AED 730. The permit is valid for 60 days from entry.

Does my son need a medical test at every renewal?

From 18, yes. u.ae says sponsored family members who have completed 18 must pass medical fitness tests, and GDRFA lists a medical examination for those over 18. Our medical test and Emirates ID guide explains the steps.

What happens to my son's visa if I lose my job or cancel my own residence?

His permit cannot outlast yours, so it has to be cancelled or moved to a new sponsor when your residence ends. ICP lists a AED 5,000 guarantee where a sponsor cancels without cancelling the family members' permits. If you move to a new employer, he is re-sponsored under your new visa, provided he is still under 25.

Does my son's permit run for the same length as mine?

It can match yours and can never exceed it. GDRFA Dubai's fee note implies a two-year standard permit, with AED 100 added for each further year.

Can my son work while he is on my family visa?

The dependant permit alone does not authorise work. MOHRE lists a work permit for people sponsored by a family member, which the employer applies for. Take the fee and conditions from MOHRE, as we could not read that page.

What is the cheapest way for my son to stay in the UAE after 25?

An employment visa, because the employer pays. After that, a university-sponsored student residence at AED 240 to 740 in GDRFA fees plus the university's own charge, then a second visa on a parent's company licence at AED 3,200 to 6,550 at package level.

How much does an investor visa through his own company cost?

AED 21,850 in year one at Meydan Free Zone with one visa on BusinessDubai.ae's package price, and AED 22,200 at IFZA on a partner price. A Dubai mainland company with one visa is AED 24,400. Outside Dubai, ANC Free Zone in Ajman is AED 11,600 with one visa.

Does my son need AED 75,000 for an investor visa?

At IFZA and Meydan Free Zone, the shareholder is reported to need at least AED 75,000 showing in a bank account in the UAE or his home country. The money is shown and not paid to the zone. Confirm the current rule with the zone before applying.

What GPA does a graduate need for the Golden Visa?

The published figures conflict. EGSH, a Dubai consultancy, gives 3.75. Other consultancy pages give 3.5 at class A UAE universities and 3.8 at class B. u.ae says only "top university students". Get the current figure from ICP.

How long does the jobseeker visit visa last?

60, 90 or 120 days, single entry, with no sponsor. u.ae requires a bachelor's degree and either MOHRE skill level 1 to 3 or graduation from a top-500 university in the last two years, plus a financial guarantee whose amount the page does not state.

When should we start planning for my son's 25th birthday?

At 24. Every replacement route has a slow step, whether a job offer, a university admission or bank statements showing AED 75,000 for an investor visa, and the grace period after his permit ends may be only 60 days.

References

[1] The Official Portal of the UAE Government (u.ae). Residence visa for family members, last updated 28 September 2026: unmarried daughters, sons under 25 and children with special needs; the AED 4,000 or AED 3,000 plus accommodation salary; medical fitness tests from 18; the 6-month grace period for dependants. u.ae family residence visa

[2] Federal Authority for Identity, Citizenship, Customs and Port Security (ICP). Issuing Residency Permit, last updated 11 December 2024: sons under 25 and children with special needs; family residence matching and not exceeding the sponsor's permit. ICP residency permit service

[3] General Directorate of Identity and Foreigners Affairs, Dubai (GDRFA). Issuance of a residence permit for foreigner family members, read 5 October 2026: service description, documents, conditions, the AED 200 permit fee with Dirham, in-country and delivery lines, and the 60-day grace period. GDRFA family residence permit

[4] Khaleej Times. UAE visa rules: until what age can parents sponsor sons and daughters, legal column by Ashish Mehta, 16 February 2025, quoting Article 54 of Cabinet Resolution No. 65 of 2022. Khaleej Times legal column

[5] The National. How to sponsor a son over the age of 18 under new UAE visa rules, 26 August 2022: the pre-2022 limit of 18 with a three-year study renewal, Cabinet decision No. 65 of 2022 and the 3 October 2022 start date. The National

[6] Amer247. How to sponsor my son above 18 in UAE, 25 October 2023: one-year permits past 18 under the earlier practice, and the certificate and attested continuation letter requirements. Amer247

[7] GDRFA Dubai. Issuing an entry visa for residence without work, Family Sponsorship, read 5 October 2026: AED 200 plus VAT, Knowledge and Innovation Dirhams, the AED 500 in-country fee, 60-day validity and the sponsor salary condition. GDRFA family entry permit

[8] ICP. New Identity Card Issuance: AED 100 per year of residence validity and a AED 100 smart service fee. ICP Emirates ID issuance

[9] u.ae. General provisions for the residence visa, last updated 28 September 2026: dependant validity not exceeding the sponsor's, housing and insurance documents, the 180-day absence rule and its student exemption, the one-year extension for widowed and divorced women, grace periods of up to 6 months by category, and the AED 50 a day overstay fee. u.ae general provisions

[10] ICP. Cancellation of residency permits, last updated 11 December 2024: grace periods of 180, 90, 60 and 30 days by category, the AED 50 a day fine after the grace period, the AED 100 smart services fee and the AED 5,000 guarantee fee. ICP residence permit cancellation

[11] AWS Legal Group. UAE residency visa sponsorship rules for children, 25 April 2025: the firm's statements on sponsorship past 25 with proof of study, Golden Visa thresholds and documents for children of determination. AWS Legal Group

[12] Khaleej Times. UAE residence visa: how long can expats sponsor daughters and sons, 30 August 2022: the report on Golden and Green Visa family sponsorship. Khaleej Times report

[13] u.ae. Golden visa, last updated 28 July 2026: sponsorship of spouses and children, and the outstanding student category. u.ae Golden visa

[14] GDRFA Dubai. Issuing a residency permit to a student, read 5 October 2026: the institution as host and guarantor, documents, fee lines, 48-hour completion and the 60-day grace period. GDRFA student residence permit

[15] Dubai Development Authority. Freelancer and sole professional licence: the AED 7,500 licence fee plus Knowledge and Innovation Dirhams. DDA freelancer licence

[16] ICP. Green Residence Guide, last updated 12 September 2026: the skilled employee, self-employed and investor categories, five-year validity and family sponsorship. ICP Green Residence Guide

[17] u.ae. Jobseeker visit visa, last updated 28 September 2026: eligibility, the 60, 90 and 120-day options and the no-sponsor condition. u.ae jobseeker visit visa

[18] EGSH. UAE Residence Visa Guide, by Amna Issa Abbas, updated 30 September 2026: the consultancy's stated Golden Visa threshold for outstanding students. EGSH residence visa guide

[19] Ministry of Human Resources and Emiratisation (MOHRE). Work permits for dependents sponsored by family members, service listing. MOHRE dependant work permit

[20] Amer Center. A guide to family visa services in all emirates: Amer centres for Dubai-issued visas and ICP smart services elsewhere. Amer Center guide

[21] Trustpilot. Customer reviews of Amer Center, including a review dated 24 March 2026, cited as one customer's report. Trustpilot reviews

[22] BusinessDubai.ae. 2026 package prices for Meydan Free Zone, IFZA (a partner price), Expo City, Dubai South, ANC Free Zone and the Dubai mainland, with and without visas; renewal at about 80% of year one; the AED 75,000 capital proof reported for an investor visa at IFZA and Meydan; and the corporate tax figures that accompany those prices. Company registration work since 2013. businessdubai.ae

Get started with BusinessDubai

Ready to set up your business in Dubai?

From trade licence and visas to corporate banking and tax registration, our specialists handle your entire company setup end to end — with transparent, fixed fees and no surprises. Book a free, no-obligation consultation and get a clear plan and quote today.

Trusted since 2013 · 100% foreign ownership · Fast, fixed-fee setup
Business setup consultants in Dubai ready to help you start your company