Last updated: September 2026. Package prices below were checked against BusinessDubai.ae's 2026 price list and each zone's own published rates in September 2026.
A free zone licence lets a media company exist in the UAE. It does not let that company publish, broadcast, film or run paid promotion. Federal Decree-Law No. 11 of 2025, signed on 30 September 2025 and in force from January 2026, created the National Media Authority (NMA), which replaced the UAE Media Council and took over its functions [1]. The NMA licenses media activity inside free zones "in the same manner as those operating elsewhere in the State" [2]. Of the fifteen pages ranking for the best free zone for a media company in the UAE that were reviewed for this guide, none names it.
That matters because the zone decision and the permission decision are made at the same time, and most comparison pages only answer the first. Pick a zone on price alone and you can still end up unable to invoice a brand campaign, shoot a commercial in Dubai or claim Abu Dhabi's production rebate.
Since 2013, BusinessDubai.ae has set up companies in every emirate, and the package prices here come either from BusinessDubai.ae's 2026 price list or from the zones' own published rates, labelled as such. This guide covers ten zones by what each is actually for, the federal media permits that sit on top of the licence, costs by visa count including the second visa, the Abu Dhabi production rebate, Designated Zone status and the corporate tax position for media businesses.
Is a free zone trade licence enough to run a media business in the UAE?
No. A UAE free zone trade licence gives a media company the right to exist and trade. Publishing, broadcasting, filming and paid social promotion each need a separate federal approval from the National Media Authority, whose remit covers free zones, and filming in Dubai also needs a Dubai Film and TV Commission permit [2][3].
Think of it as two layers. The first is the trade licence, issued by the zone, which fixes your activity, your visa allocation and your address. The second is the media layer, issued federally by the NMA under the framework of Federal Decree-Law No. 55 of 2023 on Regulating Media, and it follows the activity wherever the licence sits [2]. A zone can sell you the first layer. It cannot sell you the second.
The NMA's e-services catalogue lists a separate product for each kind of media activity [4]. The table maps each layer to the business that needs it.
| Layer | What it covers | Who needs it | Fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Trade licence | The right to trade in a licensed activity | Every media business | Set by the zone; see the cost tables below |
| Advertiser Permit | Advertising or media content on personal social and digital channels, paid or unpaid | UAE-resident individuals doing paid, gifted or affiliate promotion | Free for the first three years, then AED 1,000 a year [5] |
| Visitor Advertiser Permit | The same activity for people on a visit visa | Visiting creators posting promotional content in the UAE | AED 500 for three months, through a licensed UAE advertising agency [6] |
| Commercial media licence | Media activity of a commercial nature at company level | Publishers, broadcasters and media producers | Set on application through the NMA portal [4] |
| Radio and TV broadcasting licence | Broadcast activity, licensed per channel | Any broadcaster, including free zone companies | Set on application [4] |
| Publication printing and distribution permits | Printing and distributing local and foreign publications | Publishers and printers | Set on application [4] |
| Filming licences | Ground, marine and aerial filming within the country | Production companies in any zone | Set on application [4] |
| Dubai Film and TV Commission permit | Location and content approval for a shoot in Dubai | Every production filming in Dubai | Quoted per shoot; no amount stated here [3] |
The NMA does not publish its company-level fees in a form that can be reproduced reliably, so this guide states none of them. Get each one quoted in writing when you apply. The two individual permits are the exception, and both carry published fees.
Common Mistake: Assuming the free zone licence covers publishing or paid promotion because the package was sold as a "media licence". A zone's name describes its tenants, not your permissions. A content studio licensed at SHAMS, Ajman Media City or Dubai Media City that starts running sponsored posts for brands, or distributing a printed magazine, without the matching NMA approval is operating outside the rules whatever the licence certificate says. Ask the zone in writing which NMA approval your activity needs before you pay for the licence.
What do the Advertiser Permit and Visitor Advertiser Permit cost?
The NMA Advertiser Permit is free for a UAE resident's first three years and AED 1,000 a year after that, with processing in three working days. A visiting creator needs the Visitor Advertiser Permit instead, at AED 500 for three months, applied for through a licensed UAE advertising agency rather than directly [5][6].
The trigger is promotion, not follower count and not cash. The NMA's own wording covers content published "either for compensation or free of charge", so gifted products, complimentary stays and affiliate links all bring a creator into scope [5]. The permit also sits on top of a trade licence rather than replacing it, because the NMA lists a commercial licence among the required documents [5]. The cheapest legal creator setup is therefore a licence carrying an advertising or e-media activity, plus a permit that costs nothing for three years.
The visitor route has two limits worth planning around. The permit runs for three months, the NMA may extend it, and the total cannot pass six months; the application goes in through a licensed advertising agency in the UAE [6]. A creator who expects to spend more than half the year in the country is really a resident creator and should price a licence and a residence visa instead.
Our influencer licence guide covers the permit in depth, including disclosure rules, the fine schedule and the VAT treatment of gifted products, and our content creator and YouTuber guide covers visas and the move itself.
Pro Tip: If you run an agency that books creators, make a copy of each creator's Advertiser Permit part of onboarding, next to their invoice details. Whether an agency managing several creators also needs a separate NMA licence of its own is a question no primary source answers yet, so put your exact model to the NMA in writing and keep the reply. It costs nothing, and it settles the point before a campaign rather than after one.
Do you need a filming permit if you already hold a media free zone licence?
Yes. A media free zone licence does not authorise a shoot. The NMA issues its own filming licences for ground, marine and aerial filming, and any production filming in Dubai also needs a permit from the Dubai Film and TV Commission, on top of the licence, whichever zone issued it [4][3].
Fee figures for the Dubai permit circulate on production-service websites, but the commission's own portal now sits behind a login and those figures could not be confirmed against a primary page, so this guide does not print them. Budget the permit as its own line and ask the commission or your production fixer for a written quote per shoot, because the location changes the answer.
Abu Dhabi runs a different model. The Abu Dhabi Film Commission works with twofour54 to bundle location scouting, shooting permits, script approval and customs clearance for productions filming in the emirate [7]. For a production company that shoots often, that bundled support is a practical reason to look at Abu Dhabi alongside the rebate covered below.
Adjacent media businesses carry their own permit questions. Our photography business guide covers commercial photographers, our event management company guide covers activations and live events, and outdoor advertising in Dubai has its own approval chain, set out in our signage and advertising company guide.
Which UAE free zones are built for media, and what is each one for?
Seven UAE free zones are built around media: Dubai Media City, Dubai Studio City and Dubai Production City in Dubai, twofour54 in Abu Dhabi, SHAMS in Sharjah, Ajman Media City and Fujairah Creative City. IFZA, Meydan and SPC Free Zone also license media activities without being media zones. Four of the ten publish no price.
The table ranks nothing. It sets out what each zone is for, what it publishes on price and what is known about its visa rules. SHAMS, SPC, IFZA and Meydan figures are BusinessDubai.ae's 2026 package prices on the visa basis shown [23].
| Zone | Emirate | Best for | Published price (AED, stated basis) | Visa rule where known |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dubai Media City | Dubai | Corporate and HQ address for broadcasters, agencies and publishers | None published; quote on application [8] | No published visa formula [8] |
| Dubai Studio City | Dubai | Filming on sound stages and a backlot | None published; quote on application | Not published |
| Dubai Production City | Dubai | Print, publishing and packaging | None published; quote on application | Not published |
| twofour54 | Abu Dhabi | TV, film, animation and gaming | None published; quote on application | Not published |
| SHAMS | Sharjah | Low-cost media, creator and agency licences | BD package: 6,885 no visa, 14,255 with 1, 18,705 with 2 | Capped at 50 by SHAMS's own terms [9] |
| Ajman Media City | Ajman | Budget media licences with published renewals | 4,999 no visa, 12,999 with 1, 17,999 with 2, 22,999 with 3 [10] | Set by package tier, 0 to 3 visas [10] |
| Fujairah Creative City | Fujairah | Remote service businesses with no physical goods | From around 5,599 no visa and around 9,300 with 1, per BD's Fujairah guide | Up to 15 visas per licence [11] |
| IFZA | Dubai | Agencies hiring several people | BD package, a partner price: 12,900 no visa, 21,400 with 1, 24,600 with 2 | Flexi-desk described as 0 to 6, not a fixed quota [12] |
| Meydan Free Zone | Dubai | Solo marketers who want a Dubai address | BD package: 12,500 no visa, 21,050 with 1, 27,600 with 2 | Flexi-desk capped at 3 investor visas [13] |
| SPC Free Zone | Sharjah | Publishers and content businesses | BD package: 5,765 no visa, 14,255 with 1, 18,705 with 2 | Uncapped allocation, paid per visa [14] |
The four zones with no published price are the three TECOM districts and twofour54, where cost depends on the facility you lease. The six that publish a figure sell a licence and a desk, which is easy to put on a price list. That split is the first thing to settle: if the business needs stages, studios or print capacity, the shortlist is short and the conversation starts with a facility quote.
What does each media free zone cost by visa count, including year two?
A UAE media free zone licence costs from AED 4,999 with no visa at Ajman Media City to AED 27,600 with two visas at Meydan. With one residence visa, published and BD package figures run from around AED 9,300 at Fujairah Creative City to AED 21,400 at IFZA. Four zones quote only on application [10][23].
The table puts every figure on the same basis. Ajman Media City's numbers are its own published packages, including renewals, fetched on 26 September 2026 [10]. SHAMS, SPC, IFZA and Meydan are BusinessDubai.ae's 2026 package prices [23].
| Zone | Licence only (AED) | With 1 visa (AED) | With 2 visas (AED) | With 3 visas (AED) | Year two and notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ajman Media City | 4,999 | 12,999 | 17,999 | 22,999 | Published renewals of 4,999, 8,999, 10,999 and 14,999 by tier [10] |
| Fujairah Creative City | Around 5,599 | Around 9,300 | Not stated | Not stated | Figures from BD's Fujairah guide; up to 15 visas per licence [11] |
| SPC Free Zone | 5,765 | 14,255 | 18,705 | Not stated | BD package; 5 activities, 7 shareholders [23] |
| SHAMS | 6,885 | 14,255 | 18,705 | Not stated | BD package; plus AED 1,600 per allocated visa at renewal [9] |
| Meydan Free Zone | 12,500 | 21,050 | 27,600 | Not stated | BD package; renewal roughly 80% of year one [23] |
| IFZA | 12,900 | 21,400 | 24,600 | Not stated | BD package and a partner price; renewal roughly 80% of year one [23] |
| Dubai Media City, Studio City, Production City, twofour54 | Quote | Quote | Quote | Quote | No published schedule [8] |
Ajman Media City is the only zone here that publishes its year-two price, and it is lower than year one on every tier with a visa: AED 8,999 against AED 12,999 with one visa, a saving of AED 4,000 [10]. For the Dubai zones, budget roughly 80% of year one [23].
Real Talk: Do not read the licence-only column as the price of a media business. AED 4,999 at Ajman Media City and AED 5,765 at SPC buy a licence with no visa, which means no residence through the company and no resident signatory for a bank. A founder who needs residency should compare on the one-visa column, where the cheapest figure among media zones is around AED 9,300 at Fujairah Creative City and the cheapest Dubai figure is AED 21,050 at Meydan.
For a quote that itemises zone fees, visas and the renewal on your own visa count across several of these zones, get an itemised media zone quote→
Why is the second visa the number that decides an agency's zone?
The second residence visa adds between AED 3,200 and AED 6,550 depending on the zone, for an identical residence permit. On BD's 2026 packages IFZA adds AED 3,200, SHAMS and SPC AED 4,450 and Meydan AED 6,550, while Ajman Media City's published tiers imply AED 5,000 [23][10].
Nobody publishes this column. It is derived by subtracting one package price from the next on the basis stated in each row, and it is the most useful number for an agency that knows it will hire. Expo City is not a media zone; it is included as the Dubai benchmark with the second-cheapest second visa.
| Zone | Basis | Licence only (AED) | 1st visa adds (AED) | 2nd visa adds (AED) | 3rd visa adds (AED) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| IFZA | BD package, partner price | 12,900 | 8,500 | 3,200 | Not stated |
| Expo City (Dubai benchmark) | BD package | 12,500 | 8,550 | 3,500 | Not stated |
| SHAMS | BD package | 6,885 | 7,370 | 4,450 | Not stated |
| SPC Free Zone | BD package | 5,765 | 8,490 | 4,450 | Not stated |
| Ajman Media City | Published packages | 4,999 | 8,000 | 5,000 | 5,000 |
| Meydan Free Zone | BD package | 12,500 | 8,550 | 6,550 | Not stated |
| Fujairah Creative City | BD's Fujairah guide | Around 5,599 | Around 3,700 | Not stated | Not stated |
Two patterns stand out. A cheap licence does not buy a cheap first visa: SPC's first visa adds AED 8,490 and Ajman Media City's AED 8,000, within a few hundred dirhams of IFZA's AED 8,500. The first-visa outlier is Fujairah Creative City at around AED 3,700, which is why it wins the one-visa comparison. And the second visa is where zones separate, with a spread of more than two to one on the same permit. One caution on the Ajman Media City rows: they are AMC's own list prices, and its packages page does not itemise the entry permit, medical test or Emirates ID, while BD's figures are complete packages. Get AMC's all-in quote in writing before relying on a gap of a few hundred or even a few thousand dirhams [10].
Quick Math: A three-person social video agency needs three visas. Ajman Media City's top tier covers all three for AED 22,999, which is AED 1,601 less than IFZA with only two visas at AED 24,600 [10][23]. At two visas the order runs Ajman Media City AED 17,999, SHAMS and SPC AED 18,705, IFZA AED 24,600 and Meydan AED 27,600. A Dubai address therefore costs a two-visa agency between AED 5,895 and AED 9,601 more in year one than the northern options, so decide whether clients will pay for it.
Pro Tip: Choose on the visa count you expect to hold in month twelve, not in week one. An agency that hires its second person in month eight pays the second-visa column every year after that, while the AED 350 gap between Meydan and IFZA at one visa is noise. Our IFZA free zone guide and Meydan free zone guide cover each zone's visa mechanics in detail.
Which TECOM district fits: Dubai Media City, Studio City or Production City?
Dubai Media City is the corporate and headquarters address for broadcasters, agencies and publishers. Dubai Studio City, opened in 2005, is built for filming on sound stages and a backlot. Dubai Production City, the former International Media Production Zone from 2003, serves print, publishing and packaging. None of the three publishes a licence price [8].
All three are TECOM Group districts, and each is priced per tenant. The Dubai Media City "Set up your business" page ends in an enquiry form rather than a rate card, and no visa-quota formula is published for the district [8]. The "one visa per 8 square metres" ratio that circulates online is consultancy-sourced, not an operator rule. Get your allocation written into the quote, tied to the facility you are actually leasing.
Dubai Studio City is the district with physical production capacity on the record. Its own offerings page lists five sound-stage facilities in three size types, including a 15,118 sq ft stage and combinable stages of up to 50,000 sq ft, with green rooms and water tanks [15]. A production house whose economics run on stage days belongs near that capacity. An agency that edits at desks and meets clients does not.
The districts also combine. Our Dubai Media City setup guide explains how companies commonly keep the licence and address at Media City while leasing stage time at Studio City or warehouse space at Production City, and it covers TECOM's GoFreelance route for individuals, the one product in the ecosystem with a published first-party fee. For the print side of Production City's tenant base, our printing business guide covers the licence and equipment questions.
Real Talk: Dubai Media City sells an address as much as a licence, and in media an address is a genuine commercial asset: pitching from the cluster that houses the region's broadcasters and agency groups opens doors. It is also the easiest asset to pay for by accident. If your clients are overseas, your team is remote and nobody will ever visit the office, a quote-on-application Media City package buys a credential you will not use, and a published-price zone from the tables above does the same legal job.
Is twofour54 or Dubai Media City better for a production company?
twofour54 suits a production company that will film in Abu Dhabi, because the Abu Dhabi Film Commission bundles permits, scouting and customs support with it and the emirate pays a production rebate. Dubai Media City suits a company that needs a Dubai client-facing address. Neither publishes a licence price, so both quote on application [7].
| Factor | twofour54 | Dubai Media City |
|---|---|---|
| Emirate | Abu Dhabi | Dubai |
| Built for | TV, film, animation, gaming and Arabic content | Corporate presence, HQ and client-facing work |
| Published licence price | None; quote on application | None; quote on application [8] |
| Production support | Scouting, shooting permits, script approval and customs clearance with the Abu Dhabi Film Commission [7] | TECOM cluster facilities; Dubai Film and TV Commission permit per shoot [3] |
| Production rebate | Abu Dhabi rebate on qualifying Abu Dhabi spend, starting at 35% [16] | None published |
| Media regulator | National Media Authority | National Media Authority [2] |
twofour54 is in Abu Dhabi, not Dubai, which several Dubai creator guides blur. The practical question is where the cameras will be. A company shooting most of its slate in Abu Dhabi gains from the bundled production support, while a Dubai agency making branded content for Dubai clients gains little from either the Abu Dhabi address or the rebate.
How does the Abu Dhabi production rebate work in 2026?
The Abu Dhabi Film Commission pays a cash rebate starting at 35% of qualifying production spend in Abu Dhabi for productions applying from 1 January 2025, up from 30%, and up to 50% in total through a points system. Reality TV, game shows, short films and animation now qualify alongside films, series and commercials [16][17].
Most comparison pages that mention the scheme still quote 30%, the rate the scheme ran at before 2025. The increase was announced by the Abu Dhabi Media Office on 22 October 2024, and the enhancements, including the 50% ceiling and the wider format list, followed on 30 December 2024 [16][17].
| Rebate feature | Before 2025 | Productions applying from 1 January 2025 |
|---|---|---|
| Base rate | 30% [7] | Starting at 35% [16] |
| Maximum | 30% | Up to 50% in total through a points system [17] |
| Formats | Feature films, TV drama and series, documentaries, TV commercials and post-production services [7] | Adds reality TV, game shows, short films and animation [17] |
| What it is paid on | Qualifying spend in Abu Dhabi | In-market production and post-production costs in Abu Dhabi [17] |
The rebate attaches to spend, not to an address. It is calculated on production and post-production costs incurred in Abu Dhabi, so where the cameras and the edit suite sit decides it [17]. A twofour54 licence does not by itself earn any rebate, and the application conditions, including who applies and through which local production arrangement, are set by the Film Commission, so check the current guidelines on film.gov.ae before you budget.
If Abu Dhabi is where the work will be made, our business setup in Abu Dhabi page sets out the licence options in the emirate, including an Abu Dhabi base for a production company that will shoot there repeatedly.
Common Mistake: Budgeting a production at the 30% rate still repeated on most comparison pages. A series planned on 30% understates the base by five percentage points before any points uplift, and a producer who designs the shoot around the points criteria can reach more. The reverse mistake is just as costly: assuming a twofour54 licence triggers the rebate on a shoot that happens in Dubai. It does not. Qualifying spend in Abu Dhabi does.
Is SHAMS really unlimited visas for a media agency?
No. SHAMS markets unlimited visas, but its own terms and conditions cap allocation at 50 visas per licence, require a business plan and bank statements above 10 visas, make an audited financial report mandatory above 20, and charge AED 1,600 per allocated visa at renewal [9].
For most media agencies, 50 is not the constraint. The gates at 10 and 20 are, because they arrive just as an agency is hiring fastest. Our Meydan versus SHAMS comparison sets the cap against Meydan's terms line by line, and our SHAMS free zone guide walks through each gate, so this guide does not re-prove it.
SHAMS remains a strong fit for a small media or creator business that wants a low licence cost and up to five activities on one licence [23]. If a Sharjah licence suits you, our business setup in Sharjah page covers SHAMS and SPC Free Zone side by side.
Quick Math: An agency renewing at SHAMS with eight visas pays 8 x AED 1,600, which is AED 12,800 in allocation fees before the licence, the establishment card or any medicals [9]. That single line is more than double the AED 5,895 that SHAMS saves over IFZA at two visas on BD's packages. Model renewal as a formula, licence plus facility plus AED 1,600 per visa, before choosing Sharjah on the entry price.
Should a budget media business choose Ajman Media City or Fujairah Creative City?
Fujairah Creative City is cheaper with one visa, at around AED 9,300 against AED 12,999 at Ajman Media City. Ajman Media City is cheaper with no visa, at AED 4,999, publishes its renewals and prices two and three visas. Creative City allows up to 15 visas but licenses no physical-goods trading [10][11].
| Factor | Ajman Media City | Fujairah Creative City |
|---|---|---|
| No visa | AED 4,999 [10] | Around AED 5,599 |
| One visa | AED 12,999 | Around AED 9,300 |
| Two or three visas | AED 17,999 or AED 22,999 | Not stated in BD's guide |
| Year-two renewal | Published: AED 4,999 to 14,999 by tier [10] | Ask the zone in writing |
| Activities | Up to 10 per licence, with co-working [10] | Wide services list; no goods trading |
| Visa ceiling | Up to 3 in the published tiers | Up to 15 per licence [11] |
Ajman Media City is not Ajman Free Zone. Both sit under the Free Zones Authority of Ajman, but Ajman Media City publishes a four-tier price table with renewals while Ajman Free Zone publishes no package price, and the two have different VAT status [18]. Quotes labelled simply "Ajman" can belong to either, so ask for the issuing authority's name as it will appear on the licence. Our Ajman free zone guide sets out the difference, and our business setup in Ajman page shows what an Ajman licence buys.
Fujairah Creative City, founded in 2007, licenses media and broadcasting, advertising and PR, design, IT, consulting, marketing, music and entertainment, and freelance work [11]. BD's Fujairah free zone guide, the source of the Creative City prices here, notes that it asks for no minimum paid-up capital and no physical office, and that it will not license trading, so a creator planning stocked merchandise needs a different licence. Our business setup in Fujairah page covers the emirate's other zones for that case.
Pro Tip: Price the renewal before the entry. Ajman Media City's one-visa tier costs AED 12,999 in year one and AED 8,999 to renew, so three years run AED 30,997 on its published list [10]. Ask Fujairah Creative City for its renewal figure on the same one-visa basis, in writing, because the entry price alone does not tell you which zone is cheaper by year three.
Can IFZA, Meydan or SPC Free Zone license a media or advertising business?
Yes. IFZA issues advertising and marketing consultancy licences, Meydan Free Zone lists marketing and content-creation activities among more than 2,500, and SPC Free Zone runs a publishing and e-commerce tier. None of the three is a media zone or offers media infrastructure, but IFZA has the cheapest second visa, at AED 3,200 [12][13][14].
These are general-purpose zones that happen to cover media activities, and for many agencies that is the right choice: a digital marketing agency needs the right activity on its licence and the right NMA approval for its work, not a sound stage. IFZA publishes no prices of its own and sells through partners, so every IFZA figure, including BD's, is a partner price [12]. Meydan publishes a direct fee schedule [13]. SPC publishes its own tiers and allocates visas without a cap, paid per visa [14].
Our digital marketing agency guide covers the agency setup itself, including activity choice and client contracts.
Real Talk: IFZA and Meydan now require a shareholder applying for an investor visa to show capital of at least AED 75,000 in a bank account, in the UAE or in the home country [23]. The rule is not widely published, and it tends to surface after the licence has been paid for. A creator or agency founder with uneven income should plan that balance before choosing either zone, because it is money you must hold, not a fee you pay.
Does Designated Zone status matter for a media company?
No. None of the ten zones in this guide appears on the VAT Designated Zones annex to Cabinet Decision No. 59 of 2017, as amended through Cabinet Decision No. 81 of 2021, and Designated Zone treatment applies to goods rather than services, so a media business charges 5% VAT like any other UAE company once registered [18].
The only place the status touches a media business is corporate tax, because the distribution item on the Qualifying Activities list needs a Designated Zone, which closes that route in all ten zones. VAT registration is mandatory above AED 375,000 of taxable supplies and voluntary above AED 187,500 [19]. Our Designated Zone VAT guide explains what the status does cover.
Can a media company in a UAE free zone get 0% corporate tax?
No, not on media income. Ministerial Decision No. 229 of 2025, Article 2(1), sets a closed list of Qualifying Activities, and media production, advertising, public relations and publishing are not on it. A media company is therefore taxed as an ordinary taxable person at 0% up to AED 375,000 and 9% above, or elects Small Business Relief [20][21].
The list has no services catch-all. It covers manufacturing and processing of goods, trading of qualifying commodities, holding shares and securities, ship ownership and operation, reinsurance, fund management, wealth and investment management, headquarter and treasury services to related parties, aircraft financing and leasing, distribution in or from a Designated Zone, logistics services, and activities ancillary to those [20]. Two items look close and are not. Distribution needs goods entering the State through a Designated Zone, and no media zone is one [18]. Ancillary activities only extend a business that already qualifies under another item. Transactions with natural persons are also an Excluded Activity, which matters for a creator business selling to individuals [20].
That leaves two real routes: the ordinary regime and Small Business Relief.
| Position | Corporate tax on media income | AED 375,000 nil band | Small Business Relief |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ordinary taxable person, revenue at or under AED 3,000,000 | Nil if the relief is elected [22] | Not needed | Available for periods ending on or before 31 December 2029 [22] |
| Ordinary taxable person, revenue above AED 3,000,000 | 0% to AED 375,000, 9% above [21] | Yes | Not available |
| Qualifying Free Zone Person (not reachable on media income) | 0% on qualifying income only, 9% on the rest | None | Barred; the two are mutually exclusive [22] |
Small Business Relief applies where revenue is at or under AED 3,000,000, and Ministerial Decision No. 131 of 2026 extended it to tax periods ending on or before 31 December 2029 [22]. It has no activity test, which is why a media business loses nothing by failing the Qualifying Free Zone Person test. Our Qualifying Free Zone Person guide sets out the conditions, and our Small Business Relief guide covers the election.
Quick Math: A content agency bills AED 2,500,000 and keeps AED 1,000,000 as profit. As an ordinary taxable person without the relief, it pays 9% on AED 625,000, which is AED 56,250 [21]. Electing Small Business Relief, because revenue is under AED 3,000,000, takes that to nil [22]. A wrongly claimed Qualifying Free Zone Person status on the same non-qualifying income would mean 9% from the first dirham, about AED 90,000, with no nil band.
Common Mistake: Reading a zone's "0% corporate tax" marketing as a promise about your activity. The 0% rate belongs to Qualifying Income under a federal test, not to an address, and changing zone cannot change the answer for advertising, production or content income. A media business that claims the status anyway takes on the compliance burden of a Qualifying Free Zone Person without the benefit.
To see which route applies to your revenue and structure before you pick a zone, model your tax position→
Free zone or mainland: which suits a media business with UAE clients?
A free zone licence suits a media business selling mainly to overseas clients or invoicing UAE companies without operating onshore. A Dubai mainland licence suits an agency working directly for UAE brands and government, from AED 15,000 on BD's mainland page and AED 26,355 for a standard Dubai setup with one visa. The NMA layer applies either way.
Whether a media business belongs in a free zone or on the mainland changes its cost, its office obligation and whether it can work onshore for UAE clients. Our free zone company setup page and our mainland company setup page price each route, including the year-two renewal that a headline price leaves out.
| Factor | Media free zone | Dubai mainland |
|---|---|---|
| Licence, no visa | AED 4,999 (Ajman Media City) to AED 12,900 (IFZA) | From AED 15,000 on BD's mainland page |
| Licence with one visa | Around AED 9,300 (Fujairah Creative City) to AED 21,400 (IFZA) | AED 26,355 for a standard Dubai setup |
| Foreign ownership | 100% | 100% for most activities |
| Working onshore for UAE mainland clients | Needs a branch, dual licence or mainland permit | Direct |
| Office | Flexi-desk or co-working in most packages | Registered tenancy required |
| NMA media approvals | Required for the activity | Required for the activity |
| Corporate tax on media income | Ordinary taxable person [20] | Ordinary taxable person [21] |
The tax row no longer separates the two, so the historic reason for choosing a free zone on tax grounds has gone for media businesses. What remains is cost against market access. An agency whose retainers are with Dubai retailers, developers and government entities can find the mainland cheaper once the cost of a branch or permit is added to a free zone company, while a creator paid by overseas brands has no use for onshore access.
What does a media company renew and file every year?
A UAE media company renews its trade licence and visas each year, registers for corporate tax within the FTA's deadlines or pays a AED 10,000 late-registration penalty, files a return even when Small Business Relief takes tax to nil, and registers for VAT above AED 375,000. Advertiser Permits start costing AED 1,000 a year in year four [19][5].
| Item | When | Cost or rule |
|---|---|---|
| Licence renewal | Every year | Published at Ajman Media City; roughly 80% of year one at the Dubai zones [23] |
| Visa allocation at SHAMS | At each renewal | AED 1,600 per allocated visa [9] |
| Advertiser Permit | After three free years | AED 1,000 a year [5] |
| Corporate tax registration | Within the FTA deadline | AED 10,000 penalty if late [19] |
| Corporate tax return | Every tax period | Required, because Small Business Relief is elected on the return [22] |
| VAT registration | Once taxable supplies pass AED 375,000 | Voluntary from AED 187,500 [19] |
| NMA company approvals | As each approval sets | Renewal terms given on application [4] |
Year two is when these deadlines land within a few months of each other. Our post-setup services team runs the licence, visa, permit and tax calendar so a renewal does not fall due in the middle of a shoot.
Banking is the other year-one task. WIO and Mashreq Neo open readily for free zone companies, which makes them the usual first applications for a new media business [23]. Whichever bank you choose, make sure the activity on the licence matches the work you will invoice.
Which free zone should you pick for your type of media business?
There is no single best free zone for a media company in the UAE. A solo creator on a budget fits Fujairah Creative City or Ajman Media City, a hiring agency fits IFZA or Ajman Media City, a production house fits Studio City or twofour54, and a corporate media headquarters fits Dubai Media City.
| Your media business | Recommended zone | Cost on the stated basis | Why |
|---|---|---|---|
| Solo creator on a budget | Fujairah Creative City, or Ajman Media City with no visa | Around AED 9,300 with 1 visa; AED 4,999 with none | Cheapest one-visa media figure; lowest published licence-only price [10] |
| Creator doing paid promotion | Any licence with an advertising or e-media activity, plus the NMA Advertiser Permit | Licence price plus a permit free for three years | The permit, not the zone, makes paid promotion legal [5] |
| Agency hiring several staff | IFZA in Dubai, or Ajman Media City outside it | AED 24,600 with 2 visas; AED 22,999 with 3 | Cheapest second visa at AED 3,200; three visas on a published tier [23] |
| Production house needing stages | Dubai Studio City, or twofour54 in Abu Dhabi | Quote on application | Sound stages and production support on site [15] |
| Film or TV production chasing the rebate | Abu Dhabi shoot and post, with or without a twofour54 base | Rebate starting at 35%, up to 50% | The rebate follows qualifying Abu Dhabi spend [17] |
| Publisher or printer | SPC Free Zone for a publishing licence; Dubai Production City for print capacity | SPC AED 5,765 no visa, 14,255 with 1; Production City on application | Publishing tier at SPC, print footprint at Production City, plus NMA publication permits [14] |
| Corporate media HQ wanting a Dubai address | Dubai Media City | Quote on application | The cluster address is the product [8] |
If price is the first filter, our cheapest UAE free zones ranking ranks every zone on the same visa basis, and our best free zones for consultants guide runs the same analysis for advisory, PR and strategy firms.
Check which zone fits your visa count→
Real Client Stories
These are composite examples built from the situations media founders most often face when choosing a zone. Names and details are illustrative, and the only figures used are BusinessDubai.ae's package prices, the zones' published prices and the official rules cited above.
Hannah's creator business (Fujairah Creative City)
Hannah, a British lifestyle creator relocating to the UAE, wanted residency at the lowest defensible cost and no office. Fujairah Creative City with one visa, at around AED 9,300, beat every other media zone on the one-visa basis, and she did not need a Dubai address because her brand partners were in Europe. The step she nearly missed came after the licence. Her first paid campaign with a UAE hotel needed the NMA Advertiser Permit, free for her first three years but a separate application that her licence did not replace. The lesson: the licence opens the business, and the permit opens the brand work.
Omar's three-person video agency (Ajman Media City)
Omar and two co-founders ran a short-form video agency for Gulf retail brands and needed three residence visas from the start. Their first shortlist was Dubai, where IFZA priced two visas at AED 24,600 before a third was even added. Ajman Media City's top tier covered all three visas at AED 22,999, with a published renewal of AED 14,999, so the three-year cost was visible before they paid. SHAMS at AED 18,705 for two visas was close, but the third visa sat outside that package. They chose Ajman and left the Dubai address question until a client asked for one. The lesson: choose on visa count, and read the renewal column.
The documentary series budgeted at the old rebate
A documentary producer licensed in a Dubai free zone planned a six-part series filmed mostly in Abu Dhabi, and budgeted the Abu Dhabi rebate at 30% from an older comparison page. The rate for productions applying from 1 January 2025 starts at 35%, with points available toward a 50% total. Her Dubai licence address was not what decided eligibility, because the rebate is calculated on qualifying Abu Dhabi spend and the application conditions sit with the Film Commission. The real work was elsewhere: an NMA filming licence, the Film Commission process and a shoot plan built around the points criteria. The lesson: plan where the work is made, then the address.
Your next steps on choosing a media free zone
Three decisions matter for a media business, and the zone is only one of them. The first is permission: the National Media Authority licenses media activity inside free zones as it does everywhere else, so the Advertiser Permit, the company media licence, the broadcast licence or the filming licence has to match what you actually do [2]. The second is visa count, because the second visa ranges from AED 3,200 to AED 6,550 on the identical permit. The third is where the work is physically made, because Abu Dhabi's rebate follows qualifying spend, not a licence address. Corporate tax does not move with the zone at all: media income is not a Qualifying Activity, and Small Business Relief is the route to nil under AED 3,000,000 of revenue.
BusinessDubai.ae has completed 700+ company registrations across the UAE, with itemised pricing and no hidden fees. We will price a free zone company setup across the media zones above on your real visa count, put a mainland company setup beside it if your clients are UAE brands, tell you which NMA approvals your activity needs, and hand the licence, visa, permit and tax calendar to our post-setup services team.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the best free zone for a media company in the UAE?
It depends on the kind of media business, because the ten media-relevant zones do different jobs. Dubai Media City suits a corporate headquarters, Dubai Studio City and twofour54 suit production, Fujairah Creative City and Ajman Media City suit budget creators, and IFZA suits an agency hiring several people, with the cheapest second visa at AED 3,200.
Which free zone is cheapest for a content creator's licence?
Ajman Media City publishes the lowest licence-only price among media zones, at AED 4,999 with no visa. With one residence visa, Fujairah Creative City is cheaper at around AED 9,300 against AED 12,999 at Ajman Media City. A licence with no visa gives no residence through the company.
Do I need a media permit on top of my free zone trade licence?
Yes, for publishing, broadcasting, filming or paid promotion. The National Media Authority licenses media activity inside free zones in the same way as elsewhere in the UAE, so the trade licence and the media approval are two separate layers with two separate applications.
Who regulates media licensing in the UAE in 2026?
The National Media Authority, created by Federal Decree-Law No. 11 of 2025, signed on 30 September 2025 and in force from January 2026. It replaced the UAE Media Council and took over its functions, so guides naming the UAE Media Council or the older National Media Council are out of date.
Is twofour54 in Dubai or Abu Dhabi?
twofour54 is in Abu Dhabi, although it appears in many Dubai creator guides. Its Dubai counterparts for media are the TECOM districts: Dubai Media City for corporate presence, Dubai Studio City for filming and Dubai Production City for print and publishing.
What is the difference between twofour54 and Dubai Media City?
twofour54 is Abu Dhabi's production-focused media zone, with production support from the Abu Dhabi Film Commission and access to the emirate's rebate on qualifying local spend. Dubai Media City is a Dubai corporate and headquarters address for broadcasters, agencies and publishers. Neither publishes a licence price.
Does Dubai Media City publish its licence price?
No. Dubai Media City's set-up page ends in an enquiry form, and TECOM publishes no licence fee, package price or visa-quota formula for the district. Any Dubai Media City price you read online is a third party's quote for one particular configuration.
How many visas can a Dubai Media City company get?
There is no published formula. The one visa per 8 square metres ratio that circulates is consultancy-sourced rather than an operator rule, and allocation normally depends on the facility you lease. Get the number written into your quote before you sign.
What is the Abu Dhabi film rebate rate in 2026?
The Abu Dhabi Film Commission's cash rebate starts at 35% for productions applying from 1 January 2025, up from 30%, and can reach 50% in total through a points system. It is paid on qualifying production and post-production spend in Abu Dhabi.
Does the Abu Dhabi rebate cover commercials and short-form content?
Yes. TV commercials were already eligible, and from 1 January 2025 the format list widened to reality TV, game shows, short films and animation, alongside feature films, series and documentaries. Check the current points criteria on film.gov.ae before budgeting.
Do I need a twofour54 licence to claim the Abu Dhabi rebate?
A twofour54 licence does not by itself earn any rebate, because the rebate is calculated on qualifying production spend in Abu Dhabi. The application conditions, including who applies, are set by the Abu Dhabi Film Commission, so confirm your structure against its current guidelines before the shoot.
How much does a Dubai filming permit cost?
The fee depends on the shoot and the location, and the Dubai Film and TV Commission's own portal now sits behind a login, so this guide states no figure. Amounts circulating on production-service websites could not be confirmed against a primary page. Get a written quote per shoot.
How much does the UAE Advertiser Permit cost?
The National Media Authority's Advertiser Permit is free for the first three years and AED 1,000 a year after that, with processing in three working days. A trade licence is still needed, because the NMA lists a commercial licence among the required documents.
Can a visiting influencer post sponsored content in the UAE?
Yes, with the Visitor Advertiser Permit, which costs AED 500 for three months and can be extended to a maximum total of six months. The application goes in through a licensed advertising agency in the UAE rather than directly from the creator.
Can a SHAMS company really get unlimited visas?
No. SHAMS's own terms cap visa allocation at 50 per licence, require a business plan and bank statements above 10 visas and an audited financial report above 20, and charge AED 1,600 per allocated visa at renewal. The word unlimited belongs to the marketing, not the terms.
Is SHAMS or Fujairah Creative City cheaper for a media licence?
Fujairah Creative City is cheaper on both bases compared here: around AED 5,599 with no visa and around AED 9,300 with one, against BD's SHAMS packages at AED 6,885 and AED 14,255. BD also prices SHAMS with two visas at AED 18,705, a basis BD's Fujairah guide does not state for Creative City.
Is Ajman Free Zone the same as Ajman Media City?
No. Both sit under the Free Zones Authority of Ajman, but Ajman Media City publishes a four-tier price list with renewals while Ajman Free Zone publishes no package price, and only Ajman Free Zone is a VAT Designated Zone. Confirm which authority will issue your licence before you pay.
Can a media company in a UAE free zone get 0% corporate tax?
Not on media income. Ministerial Decision No. 229 of 2025 sets a closed list of Qualifying Activities that leaves out media production, advertising, public relations and publishing, so a media company is an ordinary taxable person at 0% up to AED 375,000 and 9% above, or elects Small Business Relief.
Which Qualifying Activity could a media business claim under Ministerial Decision No. 229 of 2025?
In practice, none. The distribution item needs goods entering the State through a Designated Zone, and none of the media zones is one, while ancillary activities only extend a business that already qualifies under another item. Transactions with natural persons are also an Excluded Activity.
Does SPC Free Zone license publishing and media activities?
Yes. SPC Free Zone, the Sharjah Publishing City zone, runs a Publishing and E-commerce tier alongside its Standard tier, with up to five combinable activities and visa allocation paid per visa without a cap. BD's 2026 package is AED 5,765 with no visa and AED 14,255 with one.
Can IFZA issue an advertising or marketing licence?
Yes. IFZA offers advertising and marketing consultancy activities, and at AED 3,200 on BD's 2026 packages it has the cheapest second visa of the zones compared here. IFZA publishes no prices itself, so every IFZA figure, including BD's, is a partner price.
What does Dubai Studio City offer that Dubai Media City does not?
Physical production capacity. Dubai Studio City's own offerings page lists five sound-stage facilities in three size types, including combinable stages of up to 50,000 sq ft, with green rooms and water tanks, while Dubai Media City is built around offices, co-working and the cluster address.
Is Dubai Production City the same as IMPZ?
Yes. Dubai Production City is the former International Media Production Zone, established in 2003 and now a TECOM district. It serves print, publishing and packaging businesses that need a larger footprint, and it publishes no licence price.
Do I need Designated Zone status for a media business?
No. Designated Zone treatment applies to goods, not services, and none of the ten media-relevant zones is on the VAT Designated Zones annex anyway. A media company registers for VAT above AED 375,000 of taxable supplies like any other UAE business.
What is the marginal cost of a second visa at a media free zone?
On BD's 2026 packages the second visa adds AED 3,200 at IFZA, AED 4,450 at SHAMS and SPC Free Zone and AED 6,550 at Meydan, while Ajman Media City's published tiers imply AED 5,000. That spread of more than two to one is why agencies should choose on the visa count they will actually hold.
What is the cheapest one-visa media free zone in the UAE?
Fujairah Creative City, at around AED 9,300 with one visa on the figures in BD's Fujairah guide. Ajman Media City's published one-visa tier is AED 12,999, and BD's SHAMS and SPC Free Zone packages are AED 14,255 with one visa.
Does a free zone media licence let me run a TV or streaming channel?
No. Broadcasting needs a separate National Media Authority licence, issued per channel, with telecom approvals layered on for television, radio and streaming. The free zone licence covers only the company's right to trade in its licensed activity.
Does a creator agency need its own NMA licence?
No primary source answers this yet. Each creator the agency books needs an Advertiser Permit, but whether an agency managing several creators needs a separate NMA licence of its own is not stated on the NMA's pages. Put your model to the NMA in writing and keep the reply.
Does a media free zone company have to charge VAT?
Yes, at 5%, once taxable supplies pass AED 375,000 in twelve months, with voluntary registration available above AED 187,500. Free zone status does not change that, and none of the media zones is a Designated Zone.
Which banks open accounts most easily for a new media free zone company?
WIO and Mashreq Neo open readily for free zone companies, which makes them the usual first applications for a new media business. Whichever bank you choose, make sure the activity on your licence matches the work you will invoice.
How much does it cost to renew a media free zone licence?
Ajman Media City publishes its renewals: AED 4,999 with no visa, AED 8,999 with one, AED 10,999 with two and AED 14,999 with three. For Dubai zones such as IFZA and Meydan, budget roughly 80% of year one, and at SHAMS add AED 1,600 per allocated visa.
Can Fujairah Creative City license merchandise sales?
No. Fujairah Creative City licenses services such as media, advertising, design and consulting but not physical-goods trading, so a creator selling stocked merchandise needs a licence that permits trading, for example at Fujairah Free Zone or another zone with a trading licence.
References
[1] UAE Legislation portal. Federal Decree-Law No. 11 of 2025 establishing the National Media Authority, signed 30 September 2025 and in force from January 2026, replacing the UAE Media Council and transferring its functions to the new authority. Federal Decree-Law No. 11 of 2025
[2] National Media Authority. FAQ, including the statement that the Authority regulates and licenses media outlets and activities within media free zones in the same manner as those operating elsewhere in the State. National Media Authority FAQ
[3] Dubai Film and TV Commission. Filming permit requirement for productions shooting in Dubai. The permit portal now sits behind a login, and no fee schedule is reproduced in this guide. Dubai Film and TV Commission
[4] National Media Authority. Licensing e-services catalogue on the former UAE Media Council domain, now carrying National Media Authority branding, fetched 26 September 2026: separate services for commercial media licences, radio and television broadcasting licences, publication printing and distribution permits, press cards and filming licences for ground, marine and aerial filming. Fees sit behind the application portal. NMA licensing services
[5] National Media Authority. Permit for an Individual to Provide Advertising or Media Content on Social Media and Other Digital Platforms: free for the first three years, then AED 1,000, processed in three working days, covering content published for compensation or free of charge, with a commercial licence among the required documents. NMA Advertiser Permit
[6] National Media Authority. Permit for Visiting Individuals to Provide Advertising or Media Content on Social Media: AED 500, valid three months, extendable to a maximum total of six months, with the application submitted through a licensed advertising agency in the UAE. NMA Visitor Advertiser Permit
[7] twofour54. Press release of 6 November 2019 on the Abu Dhabi Film Commission's 30% cash rebate: eligible formats including feature films, TV drama and series, documentaries, TV commercials and post-production services, and bundled production support covering location scouting, shooting permits, script approval and customs clearance. twofour54
[8] Dubai Media City and TECOM Group. The Dubai Media City "Set up your business" page ends in an enquiry form with no licence fee, package price or visa-quota formula, and TECOM's district listing describes Dubai Studio City (2005) and Dubai Production City (2003, formerly International Media Production Zone). Dubai Media City, set up your business
[9] Sharjah Media City (SHAMS). Terms and conditions: maximum visa allocation of 50, business plan and bank statements above 10 visas, mandatory annual audited financial report above 20 visas, and the AED 1,600 per visa allocation fee at renewal. SHAMS terms and conditions
[10] Ajman Media City. Packages page, fetched 26 September 2026: Business Club AED 4,999 with no visa, Visionary AED 12,999 with one, Pioneer AED 17,999 with two and Innovator AED 22,999 with three, renewing at AED 4,999, 8,999, 10,999 and 14,999, each with up to 10 activities, up to 10 shareholders and co-working. Ajman Media City packages
[11] Creative City Fujairah. Licence packages and activity scope, including media and broadcasting, advertising and PR, design, IT, consulting, marketing and freelance activities, and a multi-visa package with a quota of up to 15 visas per licence. Creative City licence packages
[12] IFZA. Set Up Your Business page and formation guide: licences sold through IFZA Professional Partners with no AED figure published, advertising and marketing consultancy activities available, and flexi-desk allocation described as zero to six visas. IFZA
[13] Meydan Free Zone. Published fee schedule and activity catalogue of more than 2,500 activities including marketing and content creation, with the flexi-desk capped at three investor visas. Meydan Free Zone
[14] SPC Free Zone. Sharjah free zone licence page, published 9 December 2025 and updated 30 July 2026: a Publishing and E-commerce tier and a Standard tier, up to five combinable activities, and visa allocation without a cap, paid per visa. SPC Free Zone licence tiers
[15] Dubai Studio City. Sound stages offering page, fetched 26 September 2026: five sound-stage facilities in three size types, including a 15,118 sq ft stage and combinable stages of up to 50,000 sq ft, with green rooms and water tanks. Dubai Studio City sound stages
[16] Abu Dhabi Media Office. Release of 22 October 2024: the Abu Dhabi Film Commission enhances its production rebate from 30% to starting at 35% for qualifying productions applying from 1 January 2025. Abu Dhabi Media Office, rebate starting from 35%
[17] Abu Dhabi Media Office. Release of 30 December 2024 on enhancements to the 35% programme: up to 50% total through a points system, new eligible formats including reality TV, game shows, short films and animation, and the rebate paid on in-market production and post-production costs, with criteria published on film.gov.ae. Abu Dhabi Media Office, rebate enhancements
[18] Federal Tax Authority. List of Designated Zones under Cabinet Decision No. 59 of 2017 as amended through Cabinet Decision No. 81 of 2021, effective 12 September 2021. None of the ten zones in this guide is listed. FTA List of Designated Zones
[19] Federal Tax Authority. VAT registration thresholds, mandatory above AED 375,000 of taxable supplies and voluntary above AED 187,500, and the AED 10,000 penalty for late corporate tax registration. Federal Tax Authority
[20] Ministry of Finance. Ministerial Decision No. 229 of 2025 on Qualifying Activities and Excluded Activities: the closed Qualifying Activities list at Article 2(1) with no services catch-all, the distribution item conditioned on a Designated Zone, the ancillary activities rule, and transactions with natural persons as an Excluded Activity. Ministerial Decision No. 229 of 2025
[21] Federal Tax Authority. Federal Decree-Law No. 47 of 2022 on the Taxation of Corporations and Businesses: 0% on taxable income up to AED 375,000 and 9% above for an ordinary taxable person. Federal Decree-Law No. 47 of 2022
[22] Ministry of Finance. Ministerial Decision No. 73 of 2023 as amended by Ministerial Decision No. 131 of 2026 on Small Business Relief: revenue at or under AED 3,000,000, tax periods ending on or before 31 December 2029, elected on the tax return, and unavailable to a Qualifying Free Zone Person. Small Business Relief decision
[23] BusinessDubai.ae. Internal 2026 package price list by visa count for Meydan Free Zone, IFZA, Expo City, SHAMS and SPC Free Zone, from which the marginal visa costs in this guide are derived, with the renewal guide of roughly 80% of year one, and banking notes covering WIO and Mashreq Neo and the AED 75,000 investor visa capital rule at IFZA and Meydan. businessdubai.ae









