Last updated: October 2026. Every RAK Maritime City figure below was checked against RAK Ports' own 2026 documents on 23 October 2026. Where the zone publishes no price, this guide says so instead of filling the gap with an estimate.
RAK Ports' 2026 tariff prices a shipping agent's annual operating permit to the fils, at AED 31,950.60, yet lists its yard, warehouse and stock yard leases as "POA: Price on Application" [1]. That split is the real story of a RAK Maritime City licence: the port charges are published, and the free zone's own licence and land fees are not.
RAK Maritime City (RMC) is the free zone beside Saqr Port in Ras Al Khaimah. RAK Ports describes it as "the Free Zone area that is also known as RAK Maritime City" with "several million square metres of available land, complete with waterside access" [2]. It is built for companies that need a quay: fabricators, bulk exporters, marine contractors and port-side logistics operators. It is not a desk-and-visa free zone, and treating it like one wastes months.
Since 2013, BusinessDubai.ae has registered companies across every emirate. This guide covers who licenses RMC, its two licence types, the musataha land contract, RAK Ports operating permits and port charges, annual renewal, Designated Zone VAT status, corporate tax and what a first year costs. It is general information, not legal or tax advice: confirm your own position with RMC, RAK Ports and a qualified adviser.
What is RAK Maritime City Free Zone, in one answer?
RAK Maritime City is a port-side industrial and maritime free zone of more than 6 million square metres beside Saqr Port, run by RAK Maritime City Free Zone Authority within the RAK Ports group [3]. It issues industrial and commercial licences on musataha land, prices land and licences on application, and every operator needs a RAK Ports operating permit.
The table below sets out the facts a founder needs before the first call to RAK Ports, each taken from a 2026 RAK Ports document [1][3][4].
| Question | Answer for RAK Maritime City |
|---|---|
| Who licenses companies | RAK Maritime City Free Zone Authority (RMC FZA), a RAK Ports group company |
| Location and size | Adjacent to Saqr Port; more than 6 million square metres of developed land and waterfront |
| Licence types | Industrial and Commercial, nothing else |
| Legal entities | Free Zone Company, Free Zone Establishment, Branch of a Company (local or foreign) |
| Land tenure | A musataha contract, signed before the licence is issued |
| Licence, land and warehouse fees | Not published; leases are "POA" |
| Extra permit to work in the port | RAK Ports Operating Permit, AED 10,650.20 to AED 37,286.00 a year by category |
| VAT status | Designated Zone since 1 January 2018 |
| Ship repair yard | Not at RMC; RAK Ports' shipyard is at Al Jazeera Port |
RMC is a land-and-quay zone with a port authority behind it, so the cost of being there splits between a negotiated contract with the zone and a published schedule from the port.
Who runs RAK Maritime City, and is it part of RAKEZ?
RAK Maritime City is run by RAK Maritime City Free Zone Authority, which the RAK Ports tariff names as one of five companies in the RAK Ports network alongside Saqr Port, Ras Al Khaimah Port, Al Jazeera Port and Al Jeer Port. RMC is not part of RAKEZ, which is a separate authority with its own zones and pricing.
The RAK Ports Tariff 2026 (Doc RP ISP 311-09 V7.0, issued 05 May 2026) defines RAK Ports as "a multi-purpose port network, comprising of Saqr Port LLC, RAK Maritime City FZA, Ras Al Khaimah Port LLC, Al Jazeera Port LLC and Al Jeer Port LLC" [1]. Your licence, your berth and your operating permit all come from one group, and RMC's registration guidelines and forms are published on the RAK Ports website [4].
The legal basis, as reported
The Lexis Middle East legal database reports that RAK Maritime City Free Zone was established by Ras Al Khaimah Emiri Decree No. 21 of 2009 and amended by Emiri Decree No. 15 of 2013 [5]. BusinessDubai.ae has not read the decree text itself, so treat those numbers as the reported legal basis, not a quoted one. If a bank or a parent company's lawyers need the founding instrument, ask RMC FZA for a certified copy.
Why people mix it up with RAKEZ
RAKEZ (Ras Al Khaimah Economic Zone) is the emirate's large multi-zone free zone, and its packages dominate searches for "RAK free zone". RMC is a different authority with a different land model. Our RAKEZ free zone setup guide covers that route.
Common Mistake: Applying to RAKEZ when the plan needs a quay. BusinessDubai.ae's RAKEZ package at AED 6,010 for a licence only, or AED 12,810 with one visa, is an excellent desk licence, but a RAKEZ plot is not RMC waterfront and does not come with a jetty inside the Saqr Port free zone. A fabricator who signs land-side first and looks for a berth second ends up trucking every load to the port. Settle the berth question with RMC FZA before you sign anything else.
What is on the ground at RAK Maritime City: quay, depth and land?
RAK Maritime City has about 5.0 km of quay, private and common-user jetties and more than 6 million square metres of developed land and waterfront, according to RAK Ports' Marine Information Guide of 17 April 2026. Basin depth is about 6.8 m ACD at most berths, so deep-draft ships use Saqr Port's own terminals next door.
The Marine Information Guide (RP MD 006 V1.0) calls RMC "a strategically located maritime and industrial free zone adjacent to Saqr Port" and lists what it is for [3]: "RMC supports: Bulk and general cargo operations. Lay-by berths for idle or repair-bound vessels. Private and common-user jetties. Industrial and commercial warehousing. Modular construction and heavy equipment logistic."
The technical figures below come from the same guide's specification table [3].
| Feature | RAK Maritime City | Stevin Rock Harbour (inside RMC) |
|---|---|---|
| Total quay length | Approx. 5.0 km | Approx. 1.2 km of dedicated barge berths |
| Basin depth | Approx. 6.8 m ACD at most berths and jetties; Raymond Jetty 2 at 5.0 m, Jetty 3 at 6.3 m | Berths 1 to 3 and 7 at 6.5 m; Berths 4 to 5 at 7.0 m; Berth 6 at 6.0 m |
| Maximum vessel draft | Set by RAK Ports' Ruling Depth and Under Keel Clearance guidance | Approx. 7.0 m |
| Channel depth outside the breakwater | Approx. 7 to 13 m | Shared with RMC |
| Channel width outside the breakwater | Approx. 185 m | Shared |
| Harbour entrance width | Approx. 95 m | Shared entrance |
| Quay or jetty height | +4.25 m ACD | +2.80 m ACD |
| Primary use | Bulk and general cargo; lay-by berths | Limestone and gabbro barge loading |
The same guide's narrative gives RMC "a draft alongside of 6.5m", while the table says about 6.8 m [3], so plan on the lower figure until the Harbour Master confirms your berth. Stevin Rock Harbour "facilitates the export of several million tonnes of limestone and gabbro annually", which shows what the waterfront already does: heavy cargo moved by barge [3].
The tariff also fixes how much water in front of your quay is yours. A charge "may be levied for vessels protruding beyond the standard 50m seaward boundary from tenants’ quayside", at AED 242 per metre per day [1].
Quick Math: A 120 m vessel moored alongside a tenant's quay that sticks out 20 m beyond the 50 m seaward boundary for five days could be charged 20 × AED 242 × 5 = AED 24,200 under the 2026 tariff [1]. A fortnight at the same overhang would be AED 67,760. If your plant ships long modules or large barges, put the berth geometry in the musataha negotiation, not in next year's port invoice.
Saqr 2.0, the expansion next door
The Marine Information Guide describes Saqr Port 2.0 as a phased expansion "south of Saqr Port and immediately adjacent to RAK Maritime City FZA (RMCFZA)" [3]. Phase 1, with "targeted completion by end-2027", will deliver "approximately 600 m of common-user quay", and later phases "will provide shipyard expansion, an environmentally compliant ship recycling facility, and additional deep-water berths" [3]. Breakbulk reported on 10 May 2026 that Phase 1 had moved to late 2028 [7]. This guide does not resolve the two dates; ask RAK Ports if your plan depends on the deeper berths.
Pro Tip: Ask for the Ruling Depth and Under Keel Clearance figures for the exact berth you are offered before you discuss rent. Raymond Jetty 2 at 5.0 m is 1.8 m shallower than the typical 6.8 m basin depth [3], which can decide what a loaded vessel can carry. A plot is only as useful as the water in front of it.
Who is RAK Maritime City built for, and who should look elsewhere?
RAK Maritime City suits businesses that need waterfront land: heavy fabrication and modular construction, bulk and project cargo, offshore and marine services, and industrial warehousing. It does not suit a desk-based trading or consulting company, and it is not the place for a ship repair yard, because RAK Ports' shipyard sits at Al Jazeera Port.
The fit test is simple: does the business move something heavy over its own quay or a common-user berth? The table maps the common cases against RMC's published functions [3][6].
| Business | Fit at RMC | Why | Where else to look |
|---|---|---|---|
| Steel, offshore and modular fabrication | Strong | Modular construction is a listed function; private jetties allow load-out | Our steel fabrication company guide for land-side options |
| Bulk and project cargo (aggregates, construction materials) | Strong | Bulk cargo is a listed function; barge berths at Stevin Rock Harbour | Saqr Port's own terminals for deep-draft ships |
| Offshore and marine services (supply, lay-by, marine contracting) | Good | Lay-by berths; operating permit still needed | Hamriyah or KEZAD for other emirates |
| Industrial and commercial warehousing tied to the quay | Good | Warehousing is a listed function; rates are on application | RAKEZ or Hamriyah if no quay is needed |
| Shipping agent or ship chandler | Permit-led | The operating permit is the gate; land is optional | A desk licence plus the permit, if RAK Ports accepts it |
| Ship repair yard | Weak | RMC offers lay-by berths, not dry docks | Al Jazeera Port, where RAK Ports rents dry berths |
| Desk-based trader, broker or consultant | Poor | RMC is land-led and prices on application | RAKEZ, SHAMS, SPC or a Dubai free zone package |
Ship repair is at Al Jazeera Port, not RMC
RAK Ports' ship repair page says "In Al Jazeera Port, Ras al Khaimah hosts one of the region's top shipyards", with a 1,100-tonne synchronised lifting dock and 12 dry berths for vessels up to 77.5 metres, and that owners, operators and repairers "can rent their own berth and carry out works under their own banner" [6]. That is a separate RAK Ports facility, not an RMC licence. RMC's own function list mentions lay-by berths for repair-bound vessels, which is where a ship waits, not where it is lifted out of the water [3].
The tariff confirms the split. The annual "Other" operating permit, which covers ship maintenance and repair, carries the note that it "excludes Al Jazeera Port & Shipyard", and Al Jazeera Port has its own short-term operating permit at AED 1,596 per week or AED 3,182 per month [1].
Who is already investing
On 19 February 2026 RAK Ports announced an MoU with APT Global for a fabrication facility in RMC tied to its Saqr 2.0 project cargo plans [8], and on 30 October 2025 a partnership with Jianhua Holdings for a prestressed concrete piles factory [9]. Both fit the profile RMC is selling to: fabrication and manufacturing.
Real Talk: If you do not need a quay, you almost certainly do not need RMC. A trading company that buys steel or aggregates and never touches the cargo can hold a RAKEZ licence through BusinessDubai.ae for AED 6,010 without a visa or AED 12,810 with one, a fixed and published price. Our free zone company setup page compares the desk packages. RMC is worth its negotiation only when the waterfront is part of how the business makes money.
Which licences and legal entities does RAK Maritime City issue?
RAK Maritime City issues two licence types, Industrial and Commercial, to three kinds of entity: a Free Zone Company, a Free Zone Establishment or a Branch of a Company, local or foreign, according to RMC's registration guidelines. RMC lists no professional, general trading or separate maritime licence, whatever some setup sites advertise.
RMC's "Guidelines for Registration of New Company under RMC" list the entity types and licence types in two short blocks [4]. The table puts them side by side with what the zone's own application form adds [10].
| Item | What RMC publishes | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Free Zone Company | Listed entity type | The application form says "Amount of each share must be One thousand Dirham’s or multiples thereof." No minimum capital is stated |
| Free Zone Establishment | Listed entity type | RMC does not define the split; in UAE free zone practice an Establishment usually has one shareholder. Confirm with RMC |
| Branch of a Company (Local/Foreign) | Listed entity type | A foreign parent's licence, resolution, MOA and incumbency certificate must be legalised up to the UAE Embassy |
| Industrial and Commercial licences | The only two listed licence types | Not defined in the guidelines; activity wording is agreed with RMC |
| Manager | Named on the licence | The form notes that "Director, Manager and Secretary could be one person" |
RMC names the two licence types without defining them, so the precise activity wording is agreed with the zone at application. It matters more here than in a desk free zone, because RAK Ports asks for your trade licence when it issues the operating permit [1]. If your group already runs a UAE company, RMC accepts a branch of a local company, so the port-side plant need not be a new company; our mainland company setup page covers the mainland side.
How does RAK Maritime City company registration work, step by step?
RAK Maritime City registration runs in eight published steps: document review, immigration approval by RMC, payment of fees, signing the musataha contract, MOA and sponsorship agreement, licence issue, then an EPDA no objection certificate, a Civil Defence certificate and other authority approvals. RMC publishes no service time for any step.
The order matters, because the land contract comes before the licence. The steps below are quoted from RMC's guidelines [4].
| Step | RMC's wording | Note |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | Review of the documents | |
| 2 | Process the application for Immigration Approval (by RMC) | No visa quota rule is published |
| 3 | Payment of Fees | No public fee schedule |
| 4 | Execution of Musataha Contract, MOA & Sponsorship Agreement | Land contract signed with the constitution |
| 5 | Issuance of License | |
| 6 | Process the application for NOC from EPDA | Environment Protection and Development Authority |
| 7 | Process the application for the Certificate from Civil Defence | |
| 8 | Process the application before other external authorities/departments (as applicable) |
What documents RMC asks for
The same guidelines list nine requirements and add that "RMC reserves the right to call for any additional documents as necessary" [4].
| Document | Who provides it |
|---|---|
| Application form signed by the authorised signatory, and a business plan | Applicant |
| Passport, visa and Emirates ID of the proposed manager and directors, plus a manager NOC if applicable | Individuals |
| Passport, visa, Emirates ID and proof of residence | Individual shareholders |
| Licence or certificate of incorporation, original board resolution, MOA, original incumbency certificate, UBO passports | Corporate shareholders |
| UBO, Sanction Policy and Source of Wealth declarations, and a power of attorney if used | Applicant |
A UAE corporate shareholder's resolution must be attested by a notary public in the UAE [4].
Common Mistake: Sending a foreign parent's documents with only a home-country notarisation. RMC's guidelines require the foreign entity's licence, resolution, MOA and incumbency certificate to be "legalised up to the level of UAE Embassy", with the resolution and incumbency certificate as originals [4]. The notary, foreign ministry and embassy chain can add weeks in some countries, so start it on day one, alongside the land discussion.
Before you send an application pack to RMC, it is worth checking every document against the list above in one pass. Get your document checklist→
How does land work at RAK Maritime City: the musataha contract and the approvals?
Land at RAK Maritime City is held under a musataha contract, a long-term right to use and build on a plot that the free zone authority still owns, signed before RMC issues the licence. RAK Ports' 2026 tariff prices yard and warehouse leases on application, so the rent is negotiated with the zone, not read off a rate card.
In plain words, a musataha lets you occupy the plot and put up your own buildings and plant for an agreed term, in return for payment, while the land stays the authority's. What happens to your buildings at the end, renewal, and whether you can assign or mortgage the right are all set by the contract, so have a lawyer read it.
At RMC the musataha is signed at step four, together with the MOA and a sponsorship agreement, and the licence follows at step five [4]. On RMC's published sequence, the land comes before the licence, the opposite of a desk free zone.
What to settle before you sign
The 2026 tariff lists stock yards at Saqr Port and RMC, transit sheds, warehouses and non-bulk yards as "POA" [1]. These are the terms that change the economics most.
| Term in the musataha | Why it matters |
|---|---|
| Term and renewal right | Sets how long you have to recover the cost of buildings and plant |
| End-of-term treatment of buildings | Decides whether your investment reverts, is removed or is compensated |
| Quay frontage and berth rights | Private jetty, common-user berth or none; and the 50 m seaward boundary |
| Assignment and mortgage rights | Whether a bank can lend against the right, and whether you can sell the business with the plot |
| Service charges and utilities | Often separate from the land rent |
| Permitted use | Must match your licence activity and your EPDA and Civil Defence approvals |
| Rent review | How and when the land rate changes |
EPDA and Civil Defence: not one-off approvals
After the licence, RMC's process sends you to the Environment Protection and Development Authority (EPDA) for a no objection certificate and to Civil Defence for a certificate [4]. Both return at every renewal, when RMC asks for an EPDA certificate and a RAK Civil Defence fire safety certificate [11]. Design the facility for the annual inspection, not just the first visit.
Pro Tip: Treat the business plan as your pricing document. With land on application, give the zone the numbers that make you a good tenant: plot size, quay metres, annual tonnage and vessel types. A tenant trucking 100,000 tonnes of dry bulk a year out of RMC generates AED 249,000 in outbound logistics and port development charges alone [1], a fair point to raise when the land rate is discussed.
Which RAK Ports operating permits and port charges apply on top of the licence?
Every company working inside RAK Ports needs a RAK Ports Operating Permit on top of its licence, priced in the 2026 tariff from AED 10,650.20 a year for technical, maintenance and diving firms to AED 37,286.00 for road bunkering. Cargo also pays per-tonne charges, including AED 2.25 per tonne leaving RMC by road.
Annex A of the tariff states that a valid Operating Permit is "mandatory for conducting the approved activities at RAK Ports", and that "The single Operating Permit will enable the holder to conduct their approved activities at all of the RAK Ports" [1]. The permit is administered through Saqr Port at permit@rakports.ae, and the application asks for a company profile, a commercial trade licence or professional licence, a Chamber of Commerce certificate, a VAT registration certificate from the Federal Tax Authority and a passport copy of the owner or legal manager [1].
The 2026 permit schedule is below [1].
| Operating permit category | Annual (AED) | Monthly (AED) | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bunkering by road | 37,286.00 | 3,730 | Road tanker bunkering |
| Bunkering by sea | Price on application | Not stated | |
| Shipping agent (marine, cargo, customs) | 31,950.60 | 3,200 | |
| Ships chandler | 26,625.50 | 2,700 | |
| Manpower supply and stevedoring | 26,625.50 | 2,700 | |
| Diving companies and hull cleaning | 10,650.20 | Not stated | Temporary permit shown as an option |
| Other: technical, electrical, maintenance, surveyor, cargo sampling, ship maintenance and repair | 10,650.20 | Not stated | Excludes Al Jazeera Port and Shipyard; temporary permit shown as an option |
| Recycling, waste and scrap companies | Price on application | Not stated | |
| Temporary operating permit, per operation | 1,596.50 | RAK Ports excluding Al Jazeera Port; all emirates' trade licences | |
| Al Jazeera Port and Shipyard, short term | 1,596 per week; 3,182 per month | Applications to Al Jazeera Port, subject to its approval |
The per-tonne cargo charges that apply at Saqr Port and RMC are separate from the permit [1].
| Port charge | Rate (AED) | Applies to |
|---|---|---|
| Port development charge, Saqr Port and RMC | 0.24 per MT/FRT | All import and export cargo |
| RMC Outbound Logistics Charge | 2.25 per MT/FRT | All cargo exiting RMC by road; dry bulk and dry processed cargo, excluding liquid bulk and project cargo; charged on top of the port development charge |
| Truck access and egress | 0.275 per MT/FRT | Import and export cargo |
| Weighbridge | 21.63 per vehicle per trip | Vehicles using the port weighbridge |
| Common-user berth at RMC: diesel, base oils, bitumen | 4.33 per ton | Tenants operating on the RMC common-user berth |
| Vessel beyond the 50 m seaward boundary | 242 per metre per day | Overhang from a tenant's quayside |
| Saqr Port site office | 650 per sqm a year | Excludes utilities, billed at cost plus 20% |
Quick Math: A shipping agency that also supplies ships needs two permits: AED 31,950.60 as an agent plus AED 26,625.50 as a chandler, or AED 58,576.10 a year [1]. On the monthly columns the same pair costs AED 3,200 plus AED 2,700, or AED 5,900 a month. Nine months on monthly permits is AED 53,100; ten months is AED 59,000, which is already more than the annual pair. Plan a full year and the annual permits win from the tenth month.
Quick Math: A crushed-stone exporter trucking 200,000 tonnes a year out of RMC pays AED 2.25 a tonne in outbound logistics charge plus AED 0.24 in port development charge, or AED 2.49 a tonne: AED 498,000 a year before truck access at AED 0.275 a tonne and weighbridge fees [1]. The outbound charge is defined by road transport, so ask RAK Ports how cargo leaving by barge or ship is charged before you fix the route.
What does RAK Maritime City require at licence renewal?
RAK Maritime City licence renewal requires 14 listed documents, including medical insurance for all employees, Property All Risk, third-party liability and workmen's compensation insurance, a RAK Civil Defence fire safety certificate, an EPDA certificate, a RAK Police camera certificate and audited accounts. RMC renewal fees and an immigration file renewal fee apply but are not published.
RMC's "Documents Required for Licence Renewal" checklist shows what running a facility at RMC involves each year [11].
| Renewal document | Issued or arranged by |
|---|---|
| Request letter, signed and stamped by the manager | Company |
| Medical insurance for all employees | Insurer |
| Property All Risk, third-party liability and workmen's compensation insurance | Insurer |
| "Preventive Fire Safety Requirements" certificate | RAK Civil Defence |
| Environmental Protection & Development Authority certificate | EPDA |
| Protection Certificate for Cameras | RAK Police |
| Audited financial report | External auditor |
| UBO and Source of Wealth declarations | Company |
| RAK Chambers membership certificate (optional) | RAK Chamber |
| Manager's passport and visa, if the authority's records have expired | Manager |
| Good standing certificate of the corporate shareholder, if applicable | Parent company |
The checklist adds that "All insurance policies are to comply with the RMC Rules and Regulations", that "RMC fees are applicable for the license renewal process" and that an "Immigration File renewal fee applies" [11]. None of those fees is published, and the RAK Ports operating permit renews on its own cycle. BusinessDubai.ae's post-setup services team can hold the renewal calendar, visa renewals and tax filings, so the licence does not lapse because one certificate did.
Pro Tip: Line up the expiry dates. The three insurance policies, the medical cover, the Civil Defence and EPDA certificates and the RAK Police camera certificate each run on their own cycle, and RMC wants all of them valid at renewal, along with an audited financial report [11]. Set every renewal to fall 60 days before the licence expiry, and book the auditor before the year ends, not after.
How is a RAK Maritime City company taxed: VAT and corporate tax?
A RAK Maritime City company pays UAE corporate tax and VAT under federal rules. RMC has been a VAT Designated Zone since 1 January 2018, which affects goods only. The 0% corporate tax rate depends on qualifying activities under Ministerial Decision 229 of 2025; otherwise ordinary rates of 0% to AED 375,000 and 9% above apply.
Designated Zone status is a VAT concept for goods
The Federal Tax Authority's List of Designated Zones, based on Cabinet Decision No. 59 of 2017 as amended through Cabinet Decision No. 81 of 2021 (effective 12 September 2021), lists "RAK Maritime City Free Zone" in its Ras Al Khaimah table, effective 01/01/2018 with no end date [12]. RAK Port Free Zone appears on a separate line with the same start date. The FTA notes that "The English section is an unofficial translation" [12].
Designated Zone status changes how VAT applies to certain supplies of goods in and out of the zone, subject to its customs controls. Services, such as a marine contractor's, agent's or chandler's, follow the normal VAT rules, and the status is not the corporate tax test. Our Designated Zone VAT guide explains the goods rules.
Which RMC activities can qualify for 0% corporate tax
Ministerial Decision No. 229 of 2025 lists the Qualifying Activities for a Qualifying Free Zone Person (QFZP) [13]. The table maps the activities an RMC tenant is most likely to carry on.
| RMC activity | MD 229 item | Reading |
|---|---|---|
| Steel, offshore and modular fabrication; precast products | 2(3)(a) manufacturing | Strong candidate; sales to individuals are excluded |
| Treating or converting materials for industrial use | 2(3)(b) processing | Candidate |
| Owning and operating ships in international transport, towing, dredging at sea | 2(3)(e) ships | Qualifies; local, leisure and floating hotel uses excluded |
| Ship repair for other owners | Not named in 2(3)(e) | Do not rely on item (e); building or heavy conversion may be argued as manufacturing |
| Cargo handling, warehousing, customs brokerage for others | 2(3)(m) logistics | Qualifies where you do not take title to the goods |
| Distribution of goods from RMC | 2(3)(l) distribution | RMC is on the Designated Zone list, but the import and customer conditions also apply |
| Shipping agency, chandlery, diving, hull cleaning | Not named | Non-qualifying unless genuinely ancillary to a qualifying activity |
Manufacturing is defined as including "the production, improvement or assembly of products and materials from raw materials or components" [13]. Item (e) reads in full: "Ownership, management and operation of Ships includes the ownership, management and operation of Ships used in the international transportation of passengers, goods or livestock, towing activities and the provision of general assistance to Ships at sea, dredging activities at sea, and leasing and chartering of Ships on a bareboat basis used in the international transportation of passengers, goods or livestock. This activity shall not include Ships used for local transportation or leisure or recreational purposes, or as floating hotels, restaurants or casinos." [13]
Logistics services cover "the storage and transportation of goods or materials on behalf of another Person without taking title" to them, including cargo handling, warehousing and customs brokerage [13]. Distribution from a Designated Zone qualifies only "provided that such activities are conducted in or from a Designated Zone, and the goods or materials entering the State are imported through the Designated Zone", and the goods are supplied to a customer who resells, processes or alters them for sale or resale, or to a public benefit entity [13].
Two exclusions catch industrial tenants. "Any transactions with natural persons" are Excluded Activities, except for items (e), (g), (h) and (k), so a fabricator's sale to an individual is not qualifying [13]. And non-qualifying revenue must stay within the de minimis limit, the lower of 5% of revenue or AED 5,000,000, with audited financial statements also required [13].
Real Talk: Ship repair for other owners is not named in item (e), which covers owning, managing and operating ships, towing, assistance at sea, dredging at sea and bareboat chartering [13], so a third-party repair business should not rely on it. Building a vessel or a heavy conversion may be argued as manufacturing under item (a); that is arguable, not settled, so take advice. Plan on the ordinary rates of 0% up to AED 375,000 and 9% above.
If a condition fails, and what the ordinary rates mean
A QFZP that fails any condition "shall cease to be a Qualifying Free Zone Person from the beginning of the relevant Tax Period and for the subsequent (4) four Tax Periods" [13]. The company is then taxed at the ordinary rates, 0% on taxable income up to AED 375,000 and 9% above, from the start of that period, not at 9% from the first dirham.
A company that is not a QFZP may use Small Business Relief if its revenue is at or under AED 3,000,000, for tax periods ending on or before 31 December 2029; a QFZP cannot use the relief [14]. Our Small Business Relief guide covers the conditions, the Qualifying Free Zone Person guide covers the full QFZP test, and our marine and shipping free zones comparison sets RMC against the other maritime zones on tax.
Common Mistake: Assuming Designated Zone status means 0% corporate tax. The FTA list is a VAT instrument, and MD 229 asks a different question: what the company does and who it sells to [12][13]. An RMC chandler whose income is all chandlery is outside the closed list of Qualifying Activities, fails de minimis and is taxed at 0% to AED 375,000 and 9% above.
If your activity mix sits across qualifying and non-qualifying lines, model it before you choose the entity. Model your position→
How does RAK Maritime City compare with RAKEZ, Hamriyah, KEZAD and Dubai or Sharjah options?
RAK Maritime City is the Ras Al Khaimah choice when the business needs quay-side land and RAK Ports' berths, and its prices are on application. For a desk-based company, RAKEZ costs AED 6,010 for a licence only or AED 12,810 with one visa through BusinessDubai.ae. Hamriyah in Sharjah and KEZAD in Abu Dhabi are the other port-side industrial options.
Three different places carry a "Maritime City" name: RAK Maritime City in Ras Al Khaimah, the Maritime City sub-zone inside Hamriyah Free Zone in Sharjah, and Dubai Maritime City. They are separate zones with separate authorities. The comparison below uses BusinessDubai.ae's current package prices where a package exists, and states plainly where it does not [15].
| Base | Waterfront or industrial land | How pricing works | BusinessDubai.ae package, AED (licence only / 1 visa / 2 visas) | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| RAK Maritime City | Yes: about 5.0 km of quay beside Saqr Port | Licence, land and warehouses on application | No BusinessDubai.ae package | Quay-side fabrication, bulk and project cargo |
| RAKEZ (Ras Al Khaimah) | Industrial zones, no RMC quay | Published packages | 6,010 / 12,810 / 18,810 | Desk trading and land-side industry |
| Hamriyah Free Zone (Sharjah) | Sea-access land in its own Maritime City sub-zone | One published basic licence figure; land and warehouses quoted | Not in BusinessDubai.ae's package list | Sharjah port-side industry |
| KEZAD (Abu Dhabi) | Port-linked industrial land | Quoted by the zone | Not in BusinessDubai.ae's package list | Large industrial projects in Abu Dhabi |
| SHAMS (Sharjah) | Desk only | Published packages | 6,885 / 15,055 / 19,505 | Desk and media businesses |
| SPC Free Zone (Sharjah) | Desk only | Published packages | 5,765 / 15,055 / 19,505 | Desk businesses |
| Ajman Free Zone | Desk package | Published packages | 5,555 / 13,931 / 17,971 | Desk businesses |
| Meydan Free Zone or Dubai South | Desk packages | Published packages | 12,500 / 21,850 / 28,400 | A Dubai address and visas |
| Dubai mainland | Direct UAE market access | Published packages | 18,200 in year one without a visa; 24,400 with one visa | Selling directly to UAE customers |
For a Sharjah port-side plan, our Hamriyah Free Zone guide sets out what HFZA publishes, and our business setup in Sharjah page covers the emirate's other routes. For Abu Dhabi industrial land, see the KEZAD Group free zone guide and our business setup in Abu Dhabi page. If you only need a low-cost desk licence with a visa outside Dubai, our business setup in Ajman page shows what that package buys. Manufacturers comparing all the industrial zones should start with our best free zones for manufacturing ranking.
Free zone or mainland for a marine or industrial business
Whether you sit inside RMC or on the mainland changes who you can sell to directly and how you are taxed. The table compares the two for a port-side business [12][13][15].
| Factor | RAK Maritime City (free zone) | Dubai mainland |
|---|---|---|
| Foreign ownership | 100% | 100% for most activities |
| Quay-side land | Yes, under a musataha contract | No |
| Selling to UAE mainland customers | Usually through a distributor or a mainland presence | Direct |
| Corporate tax | 0% possible on qualifying income for a QFZP; otherwise 0% to AED 375,000 and 9% above | 0% to AED 375,000 and 9% above |
| VAT Designated Zone | Yes, for goods | No |
| Year-one cost | On application | AED 18,200 without a visa; AED 24,400 with one visa |
| Annual extras | Insurance, EPDA, Civil Defence, police camera certificate, audit, RAK Ports permit | Licence renewal and office lease |
Our mainland company setup and free zone company setup pages itemise each route, and some port-side groups end up with both: an RMC entity for the plant and a mainland company for local sales.
What will a first year at RAK Maritime City cost?
A first year at RAK Maritime City cannot be priced from public sources: RMC's registration, licence and renewal fees and its land and warehouse leases are all on application. What is published is the RAK Ports layer, from AED 10,650.20 a year for an operating permit to AED 2.25 per tonne on dry cargo leaving RMC by road.
The table separates what you can read off a published schedule from what you have to request [1][11][15].
| Cost item | Amount (AED) | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| RMC registration and licence fee | Price on application | Paid at step three; no published schedule |
| Musataha land rent | Price on application | Stock yards at Saqr Port and RMC are "POA" in the 2026 tariff |
| Warehouse or transit shed lease | Price on application | "POA" in the 2026 tariff |
| Immigration file and visas | Not published | RMC handles immigration approval; renewal fee applies |
| RAK Ports operating permit | 10,650.20 to 37,286.00 a year | By category; agent 31,950.60, chandler 26,625.50 |
| Temporary operating permit | 1,596.50 per operation | Alternative for occasional work |
| Port development charge | 0.24 per tonne | All import and export cargo |
| RMC outbound logistics charge | 2.25 per tonne | Dry cargo leaving RMC by road |
| Saqr Port site office (optional) | 650 per sqm a year | Plus utilities at cost plus 20% |
| Insurance, certificates and audit | Market or authority priced | Required at every renewal |
| Year two | RMC renewal fees on application, plus permit renewal | Immigration file renewal fee also applies |
| Desk alternative: RAKEZ via BusinessDubai.ae | 6,010 licence only; 12,810 with one visa; 18,810 with two | For a business that does not need a quay |
Real Talk: "Price on application" cuts both ways. There is no published floor, so a well-prepared tenant with a credible tonnage forecast has something to negotiate with, and a vague one does not. Any per-square-foot RMC land rate you see quoted online is someone's estimate, not an RMC schedule: the 2026 tariff says "POA" [1]. Get the licence fee, land rate and review mechanism, service charges, immigration and renewal fees, term and quay rights in writing before you pay anything.
For an itemised comparison of RMC against a RAKEZ desk licence or a mainland company for your activity, get a free setup quote→
Which RAK base fits your business?
The right base depends on whether the business moves cargo over its own quay. A fabricator or bulk exporter belongs at RAK Maritime City, an agent or chandler needs a RAK Ports operating permit first, a ship repairer looks at Al Jazeera Port, and a trader without cargo handling is usually better served by a desk licence.
| Your business | Recommended base | Licence and permits | Published cost signal | Tax note |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Steel or offshore fabricator needing a quay | RAK Maritime City | Industrial licence and musataha with quay rights | AED 242 per metre per day beyond the 50 m boundary | Manufacturing is a Qualifying Activity |
| Quarry or aggregates exporter | RAK Maritime City | Industrial or commercial licence, yard on application | AED 2.49 a tonne by road | Processing may qualify; sales to individuals excluded |
| Ship chandler or shipping agent | A licence RAK Ports accepts, plus permits; RMC only for a yard | Operating permit per category | AED 31,950.60 agent; AED 26,625.50 chandler | Agency and chandlery are not named Qualifying Activities |
| Ship repair contractor | Al Jazeera Port, with your own company elsewhere | Short-term Al Jazeera permit | AED 1,596 per week; AED 3,182 per month | Third-party repair is not named in item (e) |
| Bulk commodity trader without cargo handling | RAKEZ or another desk free zone | Commercial or trading licence | RAKEZ AED 6,010 licence only; AED 12,810 with one visa | Trading of Qualifying Commodities can qualify |
| Logistics and warehousing operator | RAK Maritime City if quay-linked | Commercial licence, warehouse on application | Rates on application | Logistics for others qualifies without taking title |
For the Dubai side, see our logistics company setup, bonded warehouse, oil and gas trading and manufacturing company setup guides.
Real Client Stories
These are composite examples built from the situations port-side industrial and marine investors most often face in Ras Al Khaimah. Names and details are illustrative, and the only figures used are published RAK Ports charges and BusinessDubai.ae's package prices.
The fabricator who priced the land last
A European offshore fabricator wanted to build jacket structures in Ras Al Khaimah and first looked at land-side industrial plots. Its modules were too large to truck, so the plan only worked with direct load-out, and that meant RAK Maritime City. Because RMC quotes land on application, the team built its model around the published RAK Ports numbers instead, including AED 242 per metre per day for any vessel beyond the 50 m seaward boundary. They then negotiated quay frontage long enough to keep their load-out barges inside it. The lesson: at RMC, the quay geometry is a cost line, so price it before the land.
The agency that needed a VAT number first
Two partners running a shipping agency in Dubai wanted to add ship supply at Saqr Port. Their RAK Ports budget was clear from the tariff: AED 31,950.60 a year for the shipping agent permit and AED 26,625.50 for the ships chandler permit. What held them up was the application list, which asks for a VAT registration certificate alongside the trade licence and chamber certificate, and their new entity had not registered yet. Having confirmed which licence RAK Ports would accept, they chose a RAKEZ desk company at AED 12,810 with one visa instead of taking land. The lesson: the operating permit, not the licence, is the gate, so sequence its documents first.
The repairer who looked for a dry dock at RMC
A ship repair contractor read online that RAK Maritime City had dry docks and planned an RMC licence around it. RAK Ports' own material put the shipyard at Al Jazeera Port, with 12 dry berths that repairers can rent, while RMC offers lay-by berths for vessels waiting for repair. The contractor kept a desk licence and priced work at Al Jazeera using the short-term permit at AED 1,596 a week or AED 3,182 a month. Its tax plan also changed, because third-party repair is not named in the ships item of Ministerial Decision 229. The lesson: check where the facility is before choosing the zone.
Start your RAK Maritime City project the right way
Three decisions matter at RAK Maritime City: whether you need a quay at all; what the musataha gives you in term, quay frontage and assignment rights, which matter more than the headline land rate; and which RAK Ports permits and cargo charges your activity triggers, alongside whether your income is a Qualifying Activity.
BusinessDubai.ae has completed 700+ company registrations across the UAE, with itemised pricing and no hidden fees. We will set an RMC quote request against a free zone company setup in RAKEZ or Sharjah and a mainland company setup for local sales, then keep the renewals, certificates and filings on schedule through our post-setup services team. Talk to a setup expert→
If the waterfront turns out not to matter for your plan, our RAKEZ free zone setup guide is the next read. If you need help opening the company's account once licensed, see our corporate bank account guide.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is RAK Maritime City part of RAKEZ?
No. RAK Maritime City is licensed by RAK Maritime City Free Zone Authority, which the RAK Ports Tariff 2026 lists as one of the five companies in the RAK Ports network. RAKEZ is a separate free zone authority with its own business and industrial zones and published packages.
How much does a RAK Maritime City licence cost in 2026?
RAK Maritime City does not publish its registration, licence or renewal fees as of October 2026. RMC's registration guidelines list "Payment of Fees" as a step without a schedule, so the fee is quoted to each applicant. The published RAK Ports costs start at AED 10,650.20 a year for an operating permit.
What is the land lease rate at RAK Maritime City?
The land lease rate at RAK Maritime City is not published. The RAK Ports Tariff 2026 lists stock yards at Saqr Port and RMC, warehouses, transit sheds and non-bulk yards as "POA: Price on Application". Any per-square-foot figure quoted online is an estimate, not an RMC schedule.
Does RAK Maritime City have a dry dock?
No dry dock is listed for RAK Maritime City in RAK Ports' 2026 Marine Information Guide. RMC offers lay-by berths for idle or repair-bound vessels. RAK Ports' shipyard, with a 1,100-tonne synchronised lifting dock and 12 dry berths, is at Al Jazeera Port.
Where can I repair ships in Ras Al Khaimah?
Ship repair in Ras Al Khaimah is centred on Al Jazeera Port, where RAK Ports says owners, operators and repairers can rent their own dry berth and work under their own banner. Short-term operating permits there cost AED 1,596 per week or AED 3,182 per month under the 2026 tariff.
What licence types does RAK Maritime City issue?
RAK Maritime City issues two licence types, Industrial and Commercial, according to its registration guidelines. It does not list a professional, general trading or separate maritime licence. The precise activity wording is agreed with RMC at application.
Can a foreign company open a branch in RAK Maritime City?
Yes. RMC lists "Branch of a Company (Local/Foreign)" as an entity type. The foreign parent's licence, resolution, MOA and incumbency certificate must be legalised up to the UAE Embassy, and the resolution and incumbency certificate must be originals.
What is the minimum share capital for an RMC company?
RMC's application form states no minimum share capital. It requires each share to be AED 1,000 or a multiple of AED 1,000.
What is a musataha contract at RAK Maritime City?
A musataha contract is a long-term right to use and build on land the authority still owns. At RAK Maritime City it is signed together with the MOA and a sponsorship agreement before the licence is issued, so the licence and the land go together.
Do I need a RAK Ports operating permit if I already hold an RMC licence?
Yes. The RAK Ports Tariff 2026 says a valid Operating Permit is mandatory for conducting approved activities at RAK Ports. One permit covers all RAK Ports, priced from AED 10,650.20 to AED 37,286.00 a year by category.
How much is a shipping agent permit at RAK Ports?
A shipping agent (marine, cargo or customs) operating permit costs AED 31,950.60 a year or AED 3,200 a month under the RAK Ports Tariff 2026. The application asks for a company profile, a trade licence, a chamber certificate, a VAT registration certificate and the owner's or manager's passport.
How much is a ship chandler permit at RAK Ports?
A ships chandler operating permit costs AED 26,625.50 a year or AED 2,700 a month in the 2026 tariff. A company doing both agency and chandlery pays for both permits, AED 58,576.10 a year.
What is the RMC Outbound Logistics Charge?
The RMC Outbound Logistics Charge is AED 2.25 per tonne on dry bulk and dry processed cargo leaving RAK Maritime City by road, excluding liquid bulk and project cargo. It is charged on top of the AED 0.24 per tonne port development charge.
Is RAK Maritime City a Designated Zone for VAT?
Yes. The FTA's List of Designated Zones includes RAK Maritime City Free Zone, effective 1 January 2018 with no end date. Designated Zone status affects VAT on certain supplies of goods only; services are taxed under the normal rules.
Is RAK Maritime City the same as RAK Port Free Zone?
The FTA lists RAK Port Free Zone and RAK Maritime City Free Zone as separate Designated Zones, both effective from 1 January 2018. Treat them as two zones and confirm with RAK Ports which one your plot or facility falls in.
Can a fabricator in RAK Maritime City pay 0% corporate tax?
A fabricator in RAK Maritime City can pay 0% on qualifying income if it meets every Qualifying Free Zone Person condition. Manufacturing is a Qualifying Activity under Ministerial Decision 229 of 2025, but sales to individuals are excluded and non-qualifying revenue must stay under the lower of 5% or AED 5,000,000.
Does ship repair income qualify for 0% corporate tax?
Third-party ship repair is not named in the ships item of Ministerial Decision 229 of 2025, which covers owning and operating ships, towing, assistance at sea, dredging and bareboat chartering. A repair business should not rely on it. Shipbuilding or heavy conversion may be argued as manufacturing, which needs specialist advice.
What happens if an RMC company fails a QFZP condition?
A company that fails a QFZP condition loses that status from the start of the tax period and for the next four tax periods. It is then taxed at the ordinary rates of 0% up to AED 375,000 and 9% above, not 9% from the first dirham.
Can an RMC company claim Small Business Relief?
An RMC company that is not a Qualifying Free Zone Person can claim Small Business Relief if its revenue is at or under AED 3,000,000, for tax periods ending on or before 31 December 2029. A QFZP cannot use the relief.
How deep is the water at RAK Maritime City?
RAK Ports' Marine Information Guide of April 2026 gives a basin depth of about 6.8 m ACD at most RMC berths and jetties, with Raymond Jetty 2 at 5.0 m and Jetty 3 at 6.3 m. The same guide's narrative mentions a draft alongside of 6.5 m, so confirm your berth with the Harbour Master.
What is Saqr 2.0 and when will it be ready?
Saqr 2.0 is a RAK Ports expansion immediately adjacent to RAK Maritime City, with Phase 1 delivering about 600 m of common-user quay. RAK Ports' April 2026 guide targets Phase 1 for end-2027, while Breakbulk reported in May 2026 that it had moved to late 2028.
What insurance does RAK Maritime City require?
RAK Maritime City's renewal checklist requires medical insurance for all employees, Property All Risk, third-party liability and workmen's compensation insurance. All policies must comply with the RMC Rules and Regulations.
Does an RMC company need audited accounts?
Yes. RMC's licence renewal checklist asks for an audited financial report of the company. Audited financial statements are also a condition for 0% corporate tax as a Qualifying Free Zone Person under Ministerial Decision 229 of 2025.
Can I get a UAE residence visa through RAK Maritime City?
RAK Maritime City processes immigration approval itself as part of registration, and an immigration file renewal fee applies at renewal. RMC does not publish a visa quota rule or visa fees, so ask the zone how many visas your facility supports.
Is RAK Maritime City a good choice for a trading company with no cargo?
Usually not. A trading company that never handles cargo has no use for RMC's quay-side land, which is priced on application. A RAKEZ desk licence through BusinessDubai.ae costs AED 6,010 without a visa or AED 12,810 with one, as of October 2026.
Can I rent an office at Saqr Port?
Port users, tenants and contractors at Saqr Port can request a site office at AED 650 per square metre a year under the RAK Ports Tariff 2026. Utilities are charged separately at cost plus 20%.
References
[1] RAK Ports. RAK Ports Tariff 2026, Doc RP ISP 311-09 V7.0, issued 05 May 2026: definition of RAK Ports, POA lease lines, port development and RMC outbound logistics charges, Annex A operating permits, Annex E site office, RMC 50 m berth parameter. rakports.ae
[2] RAK Ports. Saqr Port and Free Zone page: description of the free zone area known as RAK Maritime City. rakports.ae
[3] RAK Ports. Marine Information Guide, RP MD 006 V1.0, issued 17-04-2026: RMC overview, functions, technical specifications, Stevin Rock Harbour and Saqr Port 2.0. rakports.ae
[4] RAK Maritime City Free Zone Authority. Guidelines for Registration of New Company under RMC: requirements, process steps, entity types and licence types. rakports.ae
[5] Lexis Middle East. Ras Al Khaimah Emiri Decree No. 21/2009 database entry, including the reported amendment by Emiri Decree No. 15/2013 (decree text not read by BusinessDubai.ae). lexismiddleeast.com
[6] RAK Ports. Ship Repair page: Al Jazeera Port shipyard, synchronised lifting dock and dry berths. rakports.ae
[7] Breakbulk. RAK Ports advances Saqr 2.0, 10 May 2026: reported Phase 1 timing. breakbulk.com
[8] RAK Ports. News release, 19 February 2026: investment from APT Global to strengthen the project cargo ecosystem driven by Saqr 2.0. rakports.ae
[9] RAK Ports. News release, 30 October 2025: partnership with Jianhua Holdings. rakports.ae
[10] RAK Maritime City Free Zone Authority. Application for Registration form: share value rule and manager notes. rakports.ae
[11] RAK Maritime City Free Zone Authority. Documents Required for Licence Renewal checklist. rakports.ae
[12] Federal Tax Authority. List of Designated Zones under Cabinet Decision No. 59 of 2017 and amendments to Cabinet Decision No. 81 of 2021: Ras Al Khaimah entries. tax.gov.ae
[13] UAE Ministry of Finance. Ministerial Decision No. 229 of 2025 Regarding Qualifying Activities and Excluded Activities: Articles 2, 3 and 5. mof.gov.ae
[14] BusinessDubai.ae. UAE Small Business Relief to 2029: Ministerial Decision 131 of 2026, the AED 3,000,000 revenue threshold and the QFZP exclusion. businessdubai.ae
[15] BusinessDubai.ae. Package prices as of 23 October 2026 for RAKEZ, SHAMS, SPC, Ajman Free Zone, Meydan Free Zone, Dubai South and Dubai mainland, including the AED 800 increase on free zone packages with a residence visa from 21 October 2026. businessdubai.ae








