Supplement manufacturing in the UAE now answers to two rulebooks at once. Federal Decree-Law No. 38 of 2024 counts dietary supplements among medical products, so the Emirates Drug Establishment (EDE) charges AED 100 plus AED 5,000 to authorise each one [1][2]. Dubai Municipality still requires every health supplement made or sold in Dubai to be registered in its Montaji system [3].
Most guides still name the Ministry of Health and Prevention as the regulator and skip the factory entirely. This guide covers which regulator handles which product, what a supplement factory must hold before the first batch, which popular ingredients Dubai's own list bans (ashwagandha and melatonin among them), how corporate tax works when a free zone factory also runs a web shop, and what the setup costs in 2026.
Since 2013, BusinessDubai.ae has set up manufacturing and trading companies across the UAE. The regulator quotes below come from the primary documents: the federal law, EDE's service pages, the Dubai Municipality guideline and the Ministry of Finance decision on qualifying activities.
A scoping note: this guide is general information, not legal or regulatory advice. Two key questions, how the federal and Dubai registrations fit together and whether a supplement factory needs a pharmaceutical-style licence, are not answered in any published primary source. Where that is the case, the guide says so and tells you who to ask.
What licences does a supplement factory in the UAE need?
A supplement factory in the UAE needs three layers: a manufacturing licence (in mainland Dubai, DET activity 1079030 Food Supplements Manufacturing, an Industrial licence), the Ministry of Industry and Advanced Technology (MoIAT) industrial licence, and product authorisation for every SKU, meaning EDE marketing authorisation federally and, in Dubai, Montaji registration with Dubai Municipality [2][3][4][5].
The trade licence says the company may manufacture supplements, the MoIAT licence recognises the plant as an industrial project, and product authorisation clears each formula, label and claim. A company can hold the first two and still be unable to sell a single tub.
A possible fourth layer is an EDE factory licence. The federal law requires one, with a Good Manufacturing Practice (GMP) certificate, for any factory making medical products [1]. Whether EDE applies that to a plant making vitamins and protein powders is not stated in any primary source read for this guide. Our manufacturing company setup guide covers the base industrial layer that applies to any factory.
Is a dietary supplement a food or a medical product under UAE law?
A dietary supplement is a medical product under Federal Decree-Law No. 38 of 2024, which lists dietary supplements among medicinal products and brings them into the law's scope. Dubai's trade register still describes supplement manufacturing as making products "classified as food and not drugs", so confirm the classification before you invest [1][4].
The law was read in its official Arabic text, which EDE hosts as a PDF; the English below is a translation of that text, not an official English version [1].
- Article 1 defines dietary supplements as products taken by mouth that support the diet, have no role in treating, diagnosing or preventing disease, and need no prescription or direct medical supervision. The same article's definition of medicinal products then includes dietary supplements among medicinal products, alongside biological products and cosmetic preparations.
- Article 2(1) lists dietary supplements as their own category within the law's scope.
- Article 5(1) provides that no one may manufacture, sell, import, distribute or market a medical product in the UAE for trading purposes without marketing authorisation from the Emirates Drug Establishment.
The Dubai Department of Economy and Tourism (DET) description for activity 1079030 covers "manufacturing the supplements which are classified as food and not drugs", involving "vitamins, minerals, fiber, fatty acids, or amino acids, honey and herbal tonics" [4]. The 2024 federal law takes a different view of the same products. The activity description is a licensing label; the law decides which regulator authorises the product. Dubai Municipality's guideline defines a health supplement as "a product intended for ingestion that contains a dietary ingredient intended to add further nutritional value to supplement the diet" [3].
Real Talk: Do not build a business plan on the word "food" in an activity description. The licence tells you how DET files the company, not how EDE treats the product. With EDE's classification letter at AED 500 and 10 working days per product, the cheapest insurance in this industry is a written classification before you order raw materials [6].
Which regulator handles which supplement product?
The regulator depends on the product. Vitamins, minerals, amino acids, botanicals, enzymes and probiotics in tablets, capsules, soft gels, liquids or powders sit inside Dubai Municipality's health supplement scope and EDE's healthcare products list. Protein bars and shakes for snacking, meal replacements and traditional medicines fall outside Dubai's supplement scope [2][3].
Dubai Municipality's exclusion list includes "Meal replacement", "Ayruvedic products" (the guideline's spelling), "Chinese medicine products", "Traditional medicine products", "Protein bars and shakes intended to be for snacks /nutritional purposes", "products indicated for sleeping" and "products indicated for sexual enhancement" [3]. EDE's marketing authorisation, by contrast, covers "dietary supplements, antiseptics and disinfectants, herbal products, and cosmetics with a medical effect" [2]. A herbal product outside Dubai's supplement scope does not escape regulation; it moves to the federal route.
| Product type | Dubai Municipality health supplement scope | EDE position | What to confirm |
|---|---|---|---|
| Vitamin and mineral tablets, capsules, soft gels | In scope | Dietary supplements are in the healthcare product authorisation | How the two registrations combine |
| Protein powder, amino acids, creatine, pre-workout | Amino acids and powders in scope; caffeine capped | Dietary supplement if no disease claim | Which DET code a powder plant gets |
| Protein bars and ready shakes for snacking | Out of scope | Not named | Whether the food route applies |
| Meal replacement powders and bars | Out of scope | Not named | Food route |
| Herbal, Ayurvedic, Chinese or traditional medicine | Out of scope | "herbal products" in scope | EDE route and claim wording |
| Sleep or sexual enhancement products | Out of scope | Depends on ingredients and claims | Classification letter first |
| Anything claiming to treat or prevent a disease | Prohibited supplement claim | Medicine (DET 2100101 covers products "used to cure or prevent human diseases") | Medicine registration |
The same powder can be a health supplement, a food or a medicine depending on what is in it and what the label says it does [2][3][4].
Use EDE's classification service before you formulate
EDE's Classification of a Medical Product service costs AED 500, takes 10 working days, is open to companies and individuals, and issues a letter stating whether the product needs EDE marketing authorisation [6]. It needs an ID or licence, a product picture, a free sale certificate or CPP where one exists, the leaflet in English and Arabic, label artwork and a composition certificate.
Pro Tip: Send the classification request with the exact label claim you intend to print, not a placeholder. The claim is part of what makes a product a supplement, and a letter issued on a softer draft does not protect a stronger claim printed later. AED 500 per SKU is small next to reprinting a production run of labels.
What does the factory licensing chain look like?
The factory licensing chain for a supplement plant runs from the trade licence (DET 1079030 or a free zone equivalent) to MoIAT's industrial licence, with Dubai Municipality approvals for the premises and, if EDE treats the plant as a medical products factory, an EDE factory licence and an AED 2,000 GMP certificate [1][4][5][7].
The EDE rows below are presented as the law and the legacy procedure describe them; whether they apply to a supplement-only plant is the open question in the last column.
| Layer | Issued by | What the source says | Status for a supplement plant |
|---|---|---|---|
| Trade licence | DET or the free zone | DET 1079030 Food Supplements Manufacturing, Industrial, Food industries group | Required |
| Industrial Production Licence | MoIAT | AED 0 application, AED 100 inspection; 10 or more employees; capital of AED 250,000 or more; local industrial licence first | Required for manufacturing projects |
| Factory licence | EDE | Article 126: no medical products factory or contract manufacturing company may open without an EDE licence; valid GMP certificate a condition (translation) | Scope for supplement-only plants not stated |
| GMP compliance certificate | EDE | AED 2,000; 3 to 5 working days; valid one year; UAE, GCC and WHO GMP guidelines | Applies if the factory licence applies |
| Product and premises layer | Dubai Municipality | Montaji registration for every health supplement made in Dubai; Dubai licence covering supplement activities | Required in Dubai |
The trade licence, MoIAT and Dubai Municipality layers are certain. The EDE factory layer is the one to settle in writing before you design the building [1][3][5][7].
What the EDE factory route involves, if it applies
Articles 126 to 128 of the federal law, read in translation, require an EDE licence for a medical products factory or contract manufacturer, with a valid GMP certificate, compliance with EDE's quality and GMP standards, and a licence of at least one year renewed 60 days before expiry [1]. Article 126 also lets the local authority set a UAE-national shareholding percentage for such factories, and exempts free zone factories and contract manufacturers from it.
The Ministry of Health and Prevention (MOHAP) ran factory licensing before its services moved to EDE; its transfer page lists factory licensing and GMP certificates for factories among the services EDE now provides [9]. MOHAP's legacy page for a pharmaceutical facility describes three stages [8]: an initial approval, valid six months; engineering drawings showing material and personnel flow approved before construction, with MoIAT's approval of the project and municipality, utility and environmental approvals, then a GMP inspection; and a final licence with a Site Master File and licensed technical, production and quality control managers. It listed AED 100 to apply, AED 3,000 per final inspection, AED 2,000 for drawings approval and AED 50,000 for final licensing of pharmaceutical and medical device factories [8]. Nothing published says a supplement-only plant follows the same stages or pays the same.
Common Mistake: Designing the plant before you know which standard it will be inspected against. EDE inspects against UAE, GCC and WHO GMP guidelines [7], and the legacy procedure approved drawings before construction [8]. A layout built to a food-hygiene standard and then judged against pharmaceutical GMP can mean rebuilding walls, air handling and material flow. Describe your products, dosage forms, claims and markets to EDE in writing, ask whether Article 126 licensing, a GMP certificate and pharmacist managers apply, and send the same description to Dubai Municipality before the fit-out contract is signed.
How do you register a supplement with the Emirates Drug Establishment?
EDE registers a dietary supplement through its healthcare product marketing authorisation. The fees are "Application: AED 100" and "Registration of a pharmaceutical product for general sale: AED 5000", the service takes "45 working days", and the certificate is valid "for five years from the date of the committee's approval" [2].
The dossier is closer to a medicine file than a food file [2]. It asks for an embassy-certified CPP or free sale certificate for imported products; the formulation and a detailed composition certificate; the marketing authorisation holder, manufacturer, sites and any contract manufacturers; a valid EDE registration certificate for the manufacturing company with the intended production line; a halal certificate; a statement that the product is free of hormones, heavy metals, antibiotics, steroids and pig derivatives; a notarised local agency contract for foreign brands; pack artwork, the leaflet and one sample. The page also states that marketing authorisation holder companies must be registered by EDE before they can register products, which matters for the private label route below.
Renewal costs AED 100 plus AED 2,500 and takes 15 working days, for a further five years [10].
Quick Math: A range of 10 SKUs at AED 5,100 each costs AED 51,000 in EDE fees alone [2]. If four are borderline and need a classification letter first, add 4 x AED 500 = AED 2,000 [6]. At 45 working days per authorisation, roughly nine weeks, the launch calendar matters as much as the fee. Renewing all 10 after five years costs 10 x AED 2,600 = AED 26,000 [10].
How does Dubai Municipality's Montaji registration work?
Dubai Municipality's guideline states that "no health supplement product shall be manufactured, imported, exported, advertised, sold, or distributed in Dubai unless it has been registered in Montaji system in accordance with Dubai Municipality regulation." Registration is filed by the Dubai licence holder and lasts five years [3].
The guideline is DM-HSD-GU29-TGHS2, Version 2.0, issued 4 May 2024 under Local Order No. 11 of 2003, and applications go through the Montaji portal's Consumer Product Registration Service [3].
Who applies. "Individuals who import or locally manufacture health supplements, or have products imported or manufactured on their behalf are responsible for applying to have their products registered." The applicant "must be a company incorporated in Dubai or have a warehouse in Dubai and have a trade license in Dubai indicating activities related to health supplement." [3]
What the dossier holds. A free sale certificate, an ingredient report (with botanical name and plant part for herbals), an analysis report signed by the manufacturer's R&D department, a GMP certificate and a lab report from a certified lab using accredited methods [3]. On GMP: "In case GMP is not issued, other manufacturing quality certificates from certified bodies can be submitted." Halal, organic, clinical or safety documents may be requested.
How long it lasts. "The registration of a health supplement product shall be valid for 5 years", and later changes to registered particulars must be notified or approved [3].
Advertising. "Any related advertisement or promotional activity needs pre-approval through (Montaji system)", including social media, print and TV; discounts, gifts and free samples of registered products are exempt [3]. The guideline publishes no fee schedule, so confirm the Montaji fee on the portal when you file.
How EDE authorisation and Montaji fit together
No primary source read for this guide states how EDE's federal authorisation and Dubai Municipality's Montaji registration combine for a supplement made in Dubai. The federal law requires EDE authorisation for dietary supplements [1]; the Dubai guideline requires Montaji registration for every health supplement made or sold in Dubai [3]. Neither text says one replaces the other, and neither sets an order. Before you submit a dossier, write to EDE and to Dubai Municipality's Montaji contact, ask each whether your product needs its registration, the other's, or both, and in what order, and keep both answers on file.
Common Mistake: Launching a product once one of the two checks is done. A Montaji-registered supplement can still be challenged federally if EDE treats it as needing authorisation, and an EDE certificate does not by itself show Dubai Municipality's requirement is met. Marketplaces and pharmacy buyers ask for proof of registration, so the gap usually surfaces as a refused listing, after the stock is made.
Which supplement ingredients are banned or restricted in Dubai?
Dubai Municipality's Annex 3 bans 81 ingredients from health supplements, including Withania somnifera (Ashwagandha), Melatonin, Hericium erinaceus (Lion's Mane), Eurycoma longifolia (Tongkat ali), cannabis and CBD, DMAA, Ephedra and St. John's wort. L-Tryptophan is allowed only inside an amino acid profile, with a warning [3].
Annex 3, "Banned / Not Applicable Ingredients", "may be subjected to revision on frequent basis", so check the current version before you lock a formula [3]. The entries most likely to appear in a product brief, as the annex lists them:
| Annex 3 entry (scientific name) | Common name as listed | Typical product affected |
|---|---|---|
| Withania somnifera | Ashwagandha | Stress, sleep and testosterone blends |
| Melatonin | Melatonin | Sleep products |
| Hericium erinaceus | Lion’s Mane | Nootropic and mushroom blends |
| Eurycoma longifolia | Tongkat ali | Men's health blends |
| Canabidiol CBD | Canabidiol CBD | Wellness products |
| Dimethylamylamine | Dimethylamylamine (DMAA) | Pre-workouts |
| Ephedra sinica; Citrus aurantium | Ephedra; Bitter orange | Fat burners |
| Gamma-Aminobutyric acid | GABA | Sleep and calm blends |
| Valeriana officinalis; Piper methysticum | Valerian; kava kava | Sleep and relaxation products |
| Dehydroepiandrosterone | Dehydroepiandrosterone (DHEA) | Hormone products |
Several of these are best-sellers in Europe and the US, which is why a formula imported unchanged often fails here [3].
Conditional ingredients and limits
L-Tryptophan is entry 50, marked "partial banning": "L-Tryptophan is banned ingredient in Health Supplements unless it is a part of the amino acid profile ONLY with warning", the warning being "please consult your physician if you are taking antidepressants or any other medications." [3] Caffeine is capped at "Maximum limit per single dose: 200mg" and "Maximum daily dose: 400mg (in divided doses)", which a two-scoop pre-workout can breach. Annex 1 caps vitamins by life stage (for adults, 3,000 µg a day of vitamin A and 100 µg of vitamin D), and Annex 2 sets micro limits, a label assay of 80% to 120% of claim, adult daily heavy metal limits (arsenic 10 mcg, mercury 20, lead 20, cadmium 6), and requires pork gelatin, sildenafil, sibutramine and anabolic hormones to be absent [3].
GSO 2571:2021, the Gulf technical regulation for food supplements, names melatonin as an example ingredient [13], while Dubai's Annex 3 bans it [3]. For Dubai registration the Dubai list is the gatekeeper; for other GCC markets, check each destination's rules.
Real Talk: A foreign best-seller is rarely registrable in Dubai as it stands. A US sleep gummy with melatonin and valerian, a European adaptogen with ashwagandha, or a pre-workout with DMAA or 300 mg of caffeine a scoop each hits Annex 3 or Annex 2 [3]. Budget for a UAE formula with its own stability data, lab report and label. Treating reformulation as a project from day one costs less than a rejected dossier and stock you cannot sell.
What claims can a supplement label make in Dubai?
A Dubai supplement label may carry health claims and structure or function claims, but no disease claims. Vitamin and mineral claims are, in the guideline's words, "permitted only when the relevant vitamin and mineral used in the product amounts to > 30% the RDA value." Annex 4 lists 20 prohibited disease categories and banned words [3].
Allowed health claims include "Support good health and growth", "Supplementing nutrition", "Strengthen body" and "Relieve general tiredness, weakness", backed by "sound and sufficient scientific evidence". Structure and function examples include "Assist in maintaining joint mobility" and "Manage mild discomfort associated with menopausal symptoms" [3]. Supplements "must not be labelled, advertised or promoted for any specific medicinal purpose"; Annex 4 lists disease categories from cardiovascular disease and diabetes to obesity and depression, and bans words common on imported packs, including "Miraculously", "100% safe", "Guaranteed", "Anti-aging", "Longevity", "Memory enhancement" and "Arousal, Libido".
The 30% rule means a multivitamin with a token dose of zinc cannot claim zinc's role. Label items must be in "clear English and/or Arabic language": brand and product name, manufacturer or UAE agent details, country of origin, all ingredients by INCI or botanical name, non-removable production and expiry dates, daily dose, intended use, a health warning, barcode and batch number, with a supplement facts panel showing vitamins and minerals in numbers and as % DV [3]. EDE's classification service asks for an English and Arabic leaflet [6], so a bilingual label is the safer default.
Pro Tip: Write the claim list before the formula is final. If marketing wants an immunity claim on vitamin C, the formula needs vitamin C above 30% of the RDA [3]; settling claims first saves a second round of stability testing.
Which activity code and which zone should a supplement factory use?
A supplement factory in mainland Dubai uses DET activity 1079030 Food Supplements Manufacturing, an Industrial licence. In the free zone registers reviewed, RAKEZ has a named equivalent (1549-29 Food Supplements Manufacturing), and Dubai Science Park offers Therapeutics and Food manufacturing segments at AED 25,000 a year each [4][14][20].
The DET register has no activity named nutraceutical, sports nutrition or protein powder manufacturing [4][20]. A sports nutrition plant maps to 1079030 if its products are supplements, or a food manufacturing activity if they are foods such as snack bars; confirm with DET before you apply.
| Base | Supplement manufacturing activity found | Related rows | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Dubai mainland (DET) | 1079030 Food Supplements Manufacturing | 4721016 Food Supplements Trading; 2100101 Medicine Manufacturing | Industrial licence plus MoIAT |
| RAKEZ | 1549-29 Food Supplements Manufacturing | 2100903 Empty Gelatin Capsules Manufacturing | Only free zone register reviewed with a named row |
| Dubai Science Park | Therapeutics and Food, Manufacturing and Production | Non-manufacturing segments | AED 25,000 a year per segment |
| JAFZA | None by that name | 242301 Medicine Manufacturing | Ask the zone |
| DAFZ | None by that name | Botanical products for pharmaceutical use; herb infusions | Ask the zone |
| Meydan, IFZA, DMCC, SPC, Ajman Free Zone, ANC | Trading rows only | Food Supplements Trading | Suited to a brand, not a plant |
Most free zones will license a company that trades supplements; far fewer have an activity for making them [20].
Under Dubai Development Authority Decision No. 1 of 2021, Dubai Science Park's Therapeutics and Food Manufacturing and Production licences cost AED 25,000 a year for one activity, against AED 15,000 for non-manufacturing segments [14]. Our Dubai Science Park setup guide covers the licence classes and tax position. Published reference plants were built to pharmaceutical-grade GMP: Geltec Healthcare in Jebel Ali was reported in 2021 at 1.5 billion units a year with GCC and EU GMP certifications [19], and Himalaya Wellness opened an AED 200 million herbal plant in Dubai Industrial City in 2023 [18]. Our best free zones for manufacturing guide compares industrial zones.
Free zone or mainland for a supplement business?
A free zone suits a supplement factory that sells to distributors, pharmacies and export buyers, keeps 100% ownership and can qualify for 0% corporate tax on manufacturing income. The Dubai mainland suits a business selling directly to UAE retailers and consumers, at AED 24,400 with one visa against AED 21,850 at Meydan Free Zone [15][20].
| Factor | Dubai free zone | Dubai mainland |
|---|---|---|
| Licence, no visa | From AED 12,500 (Meydan, Dubai South, Expo City) | AED 18,200 in year one |
| Licence with one visa | AED 21,850 (Meydan, Dubai South, Expo City); IFZA AED 22,200 (partner price) | AED 24,400 |
| Supplement manufacturing activity | Only in some zones | DET 1079030 |
| National-share percentage for a medical products factory | Free zone factories exempt (Art 126, translation) | Set by the local authority |
| Corporate tax | 0% on qualifying income if all QFZP conditions are met | 0% to AED 375,000, 9% above |
| Direct-to-consumer sales | Excluded Activity; counts against de minimis | No QFZP effect |
| Year-two renewal | About 80% of year one | About AED 15,000 |
These are BusinessDubai.ae package prices for a company licence; an industrial licence, factory unit and regulator approvals are quoted per project on top [1][15][20]. Our free zone company setup page itemises the zone packages, and our mainland company setup page shows the DET route, including the renewal the headline price leaves out.
Dubai against the other emirates
Other emirates cost less at company level, but their registers show fewer supplement manufacturing activities.
| Base | Package with one visa (AED) | Supplement manufacturing row found | Product registration note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Dubai mainland | 24,400 | Yes (DET 1079030) | EDE plus Montaji |
| Meydan Free Zone or Dubai South | 21,850 | No (trading at Meydan) | EDE plus Montaji |
| RAKEZ (Ras Al Khaimah) | 12,810 | Yes (1549-29) | EDE; Montaji only for Dubai applicants |
| SPC or SHAMS (Sharjah) | 15,055 | Trading only at SPC | EDE |
| Ajman Free Zone or ANC (Ajman) | 13,931 or 11,600 | Trading only | EDE |
| Masdar City (Abu Dhabi) | 18,300 | Not checked | EDE |
For a brand rather than a plant, our business setup in Sharjah page covers SPC from AED 5,765 and SHAMS from AED 6,885 licence-only, and our business setup in Ajman page covers Ajman Free Zone at AED 13,931 and ANC at AED 11,600 with one visa [20]. Remember that a Montaji applicant must be a Dubai company or hold a Dubai warehouse and trade licence [3].
Can you sell supplements under your own brand without a factory?
A supplement brand can launch without a factory by licensing a trading company (DET 4721016 Food Supplements Trading in Dubai, or a free zone equivalent) and commissioning a licensed manufacturer. The brand still carries the product registrations: Dubai Municipality puts the duty on whoever has products "manufactured on their behalf", and EDE registers the authorisation holder [2][3][4].
Private label moves capital from a building into formulation, registration and marketing. It does not move the regulatory work to the factory.
- Dubai side: the brand owner applies, and must be a Dubai company or have a Dubai warehouse and trade licence covering health supplements [3].
- Federal side: the marketing authorisation holder must be registered with EDE before registering products, and the dossier names the manufacturer, sites and contract manufacturers [2]. Article 22 of the federal law, in translation, requires the holder to appoint at least two licensed pharmaceutical establishments, an importer and a distributor, while a locally made product may move through the licensed factory's own facilities [1].
- Contract maker abroad: EDE's Registration of a Manufacturer of Medical Products costs AED 100 plus AED 10,000, takes two to four weeks, renews every five years, and must be filed by an EDE-licensed medical warehouse with the legalised GMP certificate and a Site Master File [11]. It is written for medical products; confirm whether your range needs it.
- Contract maker in the UAE: Article 126 requires an EDE licence for a contract manufacturing company making medical products [1]. Ask for its licences and GMP certificate.
Our cosmetics manufacturing guide covers the same brand-owner split for skincare, the pharmaceutical distribution company guide covers EDE warehouse and distribution licences, and the food trading company guide covers products outside the supplement scope.
Common Mistake: Letting the contract manufacturer register the product in its own name to save time. Under the Dubai guideline the registration sits with the applicant [3], so the brand does not control the registration its stock depends on, and changing manufacturer means amending particulars or filing again. Keep registrations in the brand company's name from the first SKU.
Does a free zone supplement factory pay 0% corporate tax?
A free zone supplement factory can pay 0% corporate tax on its manufacturing income, because Ministerial Decision No. 229 of 2025 lists manufacturing and processing of goods as Qualifying Activities. Sales to distributors, pharmacies, retailers and export buyers can qualify; sales to consumers are excluded and count against the de minimis limit [15].
Article 2(3) of the decision defines the two activities [15]:
- "a. Manufacturing of goods or materials includes the production, improvement or assembly of products and materials from raw materials or components."
- "b. Processing of goods or materials includes the preparation, treatment, transformation or conversion of goods or materials into another form of good or material for commercial or industrial use or sale."
Blending, tableting, encapsulating and filling powders from raw ingredients fit the manufacturing definition on its plain words; a business that mostly repacks bought-in product should take advice. The exclusion is Article 2(2)(a): "Any transactions with natural persons, except transactions in relation to the Qualifying Activities specified under paragraphs (e), (g), (h) and (k) of Clause (1) of this Article." [15] Those exceptions are ships, fund management, wealth management and aircraft. Manufacturing is paragraph (a), so a web shop, marketplace storefront or retail counter selling to individuals is an Excluded Activity.
Article 3 allows non-qualifying revenue only where it "does not exceed 5% (five percent) of the total Revenue of the Qualifying Free Zone Person in that Tax Period or AED 5,000,000 (five million dirhams), whichever is lower." [15] A company that fails any condition ceases to qualify "from the beginning of the relevant Tax Period and for the subsequent (4) four Tax Periods" (Article 5(2)), and is taxed at the ordinary rates, 0% up to AED 375,000 and 9% above, from the start of that period [15][16]. Substance, audited accounts and arm's length pricing are also conditions; our Qualifying Free Zone Person guide covers each.
Quick Math: A free zone factory has AED 20,000,000 of revenue: AED 18,800,000 from distributors, pharmacies and export buyers, and AED 1,200,000 from its own web shop. The de minimis limit is the lower of 5% (AED 1,000,000) and AED 5,000,000, so AED 1,000,000 [15]. The web shop is AED 200,000 over. On AED 3,000,000 of taxable income, ordinary rates give 9% of AED 2,625,000, or AED 236,250, and the company is locked out for the next four periods [15][16]. Moving the web shop into a separate company, priced at arm's length, protects the factory's position.
Should a small supplement maker use Small Business Relief instead?
Small Business Relief applies where revenue is at or under AED 3,000,000, for tax periods ending on or before 31 December 2029, under Ministerial Decision No. 73 of 2023 as amended by Ministerial Decision No. 131 of 2026 [17]. A Qualifying Free Zone Person cannot elect it, so a small factory picks one regime. For a start-up selling mostly direct to consumers, relief can be simpler while revenue stays under the threshold; see our Small Business Relief guide.
Do supplements carry 5% VAT in the UAE?
Supplements in the UAE are, on the research reading of the zero-rating rules, standard-rated at 5% VAT. Cabinet Decision No. 56 of 2017 zero-rates medications and medical equipment on its list, and dietary supplements are not shown on it. Confirm the treatment of your product with the Federal Tax Authority or a tax adviser [12].
The decision zero-rates medications used in diagnosing, treating or preventing disease and registered with the Ministry of Health and Prevention [12]. Both the federal and Dubai definitions say a supplement has no such role [1][3], which is why the research reads supplements as outside the zero rate. The decision still names MOHAP rather than EDE, and no supplement-specific FTA guidance was found, so treat 5% as a working assumption to confirm. VAT registration is mandatory above AED 375,000 of taxable supplies and voluntary from AED 187,500 [16]; our VAT registration and compliance guide covers returns and export evidence.
How much does it cost to set up a supplement manufacturing business?
A supplement manufacturing business in Dubai starts from AED 12,500 for a Meydan Free Zone or Dubai South licence, AED 21,850 with one visa, or AED 24,400 on the mainland with one visa. EDE then charges AED 5,100 per product, and the factory, equipment and GMP fit-out are quoted per project [2][20].
Company figures are BusinessDubai.ae's October 2026 package prices; regulator figures are published fees.
| Cost item | Amount (AED) | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Meydan Free Zone or Dubai South | 12,500 licence only; 21,850 one visa; 28,400 two visas | Manufacturing scope and premises quoted separately |
| Expo City | 12,500; 21,850; 25,350 | BD package |
| IFZA | 12,900; 22,200; 25,400 | Partner price; IFZA publishes none |
| Dubai mainland | 18,200 without visa; 24,400 with one visa | Industrial licence and premises on top |
| Dubai Science Park manufacturing segment | 25,000 a year | DDA licence fee, one activity [14] |
| RAKEZ | 6,010; 12,810; 18,810 | Named supplement manufacturing row |
| Masdar City | 7,000; 18,300; 24,150 | BD package |
| MoIAT Industrial Production Licence | 0 application; 100 inspection | 10 or more employees; capital of AED 250,000 or more [5] |
| EDE classification letter | 500 per product | 10 working days [6] |
| EDE healthcare product authorisation | 5,100 per product | 45 working days; five years [2] |
| EDE GMP certificate | 2,000 | One year; new inspection to renew [7] |
| EDE factory licence (legacy MOHAP schedule, pharmaceutical and device factories) | 50,000 final licence; 3,000 per inspection; 2,000 drawings | Not published for supplement-only plants [8] |
| EDE foreign manufacturing site registration | 10,100 | For contract makers abroad [11] |
| Montaji registration | Confirm on the portal | No fee in the guideline [3] |
| Lab testing to Annex 2 | Quote | Accredited lab [3] |
| Factory unit, fit-out, equipment, QC lab | Quote | Depends on dosage forms and the GMP standard applied |
| Year two | About 80% of year one (Dubai free zone); about 15,000 (mainland); GMP 2,000 a year | EDE product renewal at year five: 2,600 per product [10] |
The company licence is the smallest line. For a plant, the building, equipment and GMP standard decide the budget; for a brand, per-SKU registration and lab work do. A 15-SKU brand pays AED 76,500 in EDE authorisation fees, more than its company licence [2][20].
Quick Math: A private-label brand at Meydan Free Zone with one visa (AED 21,850) and 5 SKUs registered with EDE (AED 25,500) spends AED 47,350 in year one before formulation, testing and Montaji [2][20]. A plant adds MoIAT's AED 250,000 minimum capital, AED 2,000 a year for GMP and, if EDE applies the legacy schedule, an AED 50,000 factory licence [5][7][8], before a single machine is bought.
For an itemised quote that sets your product list against the zones that can license your activity, get a free consultation→
Can you export UAE-made supplements?
UAE-made supplements can be exported, and the federal law sends export-only manufacturing to its executive regulation. EDE issues a Certificate of Free Sale for exported medical products at AED 1,000, valid one year, and Dubai Municipality says supplement categories must be registered before import or export [1][3][12].
Article 27 of the federal law, in translation, requires EDE authorisation and a licensed factory for products made for the UAE market, and leaves products made only for export to the executive regulation [1], which was not located for this guide. EDE's free sale certificate takes five working days and targets local pharmaceutical manufacturers [12]; confirm it covers your category. Dubai's guideline states: "Label Health supplement categories shall be registered prior to import or export process" [3]. GSO 2571:2021 is the Gulf technical regulation for food supplements [13], but each GCC state runs its own registration.
What are the steps from idea to first batch?
The steps for a supplement factory run in this order: classify each product with EDE (10 working days), choose the zone or mainland licence, obtain the trade licence and MoIAT industrial licence, settle the factory standard with EDE, build and pass inspection, then register each product with EDE (45 working days) and Montaji [2][5][6].
- Classify borderline SKUs with EDE, AED 500 each [6].
- Fix formula and claims against Annexes 1 to 4 [3].
- Choose the base: DET 1079030, RAKEZ 1549-29, Dubai Science Park or a zone that confirms a manufacturing activity [4][14][20].
- Licence the company, then MoIAT, listed at 5 working days in its fee box and within 15 business days in its FAQ [5].
- Settle the factory route with EDE and Dubai Municipality in writing [1][3].
- Build and inspect; EDE's GMP certificate issues in 3 to 5 working days [7].
- Register each product with EDE and Montaji in the order both confirm [2][3].
- Clear advertising through Montaji before launch [3].
Classification and formulation can run while the company is licensed. Once trading, the licence, MoIAT, GMP certificate, visas, corporate tax and VAT all renew on their own cycles; our post-setup services team runs that calendar, and our corporate bank account guide covers what banks ask a manufacturer for.
Which route fits your supplement business?
The right route depends on what you make and who buys it. A tablet or powder plant selling to the trade fits a free zone with a manufacturing activity; a brand without a factory fits a trading licence plus a contract maker; a direct-to-consumer brand fits the mainland or a separate selling company [3][15][20].
| Business | Suggested route | Product registration | Settle first |
|---|---|---|---|
| Vitamin and mineral tablet factory | RAKEZ 1549-29, Dubai Science Park, or DET 1079030, plus MoIAT | EDE per SKU; Montaji in Dubai | Whether EDE factory licensing and GMP apply |
| Sports nutrition powder plant | As above; DET code to confirm | Supplement route for powders; food route possible for bars and shakes | Caffeine caps and banned stimulants |
| Herbal products maker | Manufacturing licence plus EDE route | EDE "herbal products" | Classification letter per product |
| Private-label brand without a factory | Trading licence (DET 4721016 or a zone trading row) | In the brand's name | Contract maker's licences and GMP |
| Direct-to-consumer supplement brand | Mainland, or a selling company beside a free zone factory | As for the brand | De minimis if a free zone factory also sells online |
| Exporter to the GCC | Free zone factory selling to export buyers | EDE; export free sale certificate | Each destination's registration |
Real Client Stories
These are composite examples built from the situations supplement founders most often face in the UAE. Names and details are illustrative, and the only figures used are published regulator fees and BusinessDubai.ae's package prices.
The adaptogen brand that had to reformulate
A founder planned to launch an imported stress-and-sleep capsule range through a Meydan Free Zone trading company at AED 21,850 with one visa. The lead product combined ashwagandha, melatonin and valerian, all three of which appear on Dubai Municipality's Annex 3 banned list. Two further SKUs used Lion's Mane. Rather than file and wait, she asked a UAE contract maker for a new formula built on vitamins, magnesium and permitted botanicals, then paid AED 500 per SKU for EDE classification letters before ordering stock. The range launched later than planned, but on formulas that could be registered. Lesson: check Annex 3 before you sign a supply contract, not after.
The powder plant that sold online too
A sports nutrition maker set up a free zone plant selling protein and amino acid powders to gyms, distributors and an export buyer, and added its own web shop in the first year. Online sales grew fast. Under Ministerial Decision No. 229 of 2025, sales to individuals are an Excluded Activity, and the de minimis limit is the lower of 5% of revenue or AED 5,000,000. Once the web shop passed that line, the factory would lose Qualifying Free Zone Person status for that period and the next four. The owners moved online retail into a separate mainland company buying at arm's length. Lesson: decide where consumer sales sit before they start.
The brand whose registration sat with the factory
A wellness brand used a contract manufacturer to make its vitamin gummies and let the manufacturer file the registrations to save time. Two years later the brand wanted a second supplier for capacity. Because the registrations named the factory as applicant, moving production meant changing particulars and filing again, at AED 5,100 per product with EDE on top of Montaji. With eight SKUs, that was AED 40,800 in EDE fees alone, plus the waiting time. The brand now files every new SKU in its own company's name. Lesson: the company that owns the brand should own the registrations.
Start your supplement business the right way
For a supplement business, the trade licence is the easy part. Classification decides the regulator, the factory standard and the label, so get EDE's letter for any product near the line. Dubai's banned list and claims rules mean many foreign best-sellers need a UAE formula. And a free zone factory selling to the trade can reach 0% corporate tax, while a web shop in the same company can cost it that rate for five periods. The two unpublished answers, how EDE and Montaji combine and whether a supplement-only plant needs EDE's factory licence, should be in writing before you commit capital.
BusinessDubai.ae has completed 700+ company registrations across the UAE since 2013, with itemised pricing and no hidden fees. We will price a free zone company setup in a zone that can license supplement manufacturing against a mainland company setup under DET 1079030, and our post-setup services team handles visas, renewals and filings once you are trading. Talk to a setup expert→
If your products turn out to be foods, our food processing factory guide covers that route; if you will also supply clinics with devices, see the medical equipment trading guide.
Frequently Asked Questions
Who regulates dietary supplements in the UAE in 2026?
The Emirates Drug Establishment regulates dietary supplements federally under Federal Decree-Law No. 38 of 2024 and authorises them through its healthcare product marketing authorisation. In Dubai, Dubai Municipality also requires every health supplement made or sold in the emirate to be registered in Montaji.
Is a supplement a food or a medicine under UAE law?
Under Federal Decree-Law No. 38 of 2024, read in its Arabic text, dietary supplements are included among medicinal products. Dubai's trade register still describes activity 1079030 as making supplements "classified as food and not drugs". The law decides the regulator, so confirm your product's classification with EDE.
Do I need both EDE authorisation and Montaji registration for a Dubai-made supplement?
No published primary source says how the two fit together. The federal law requires EDE authorisation for dietary supplements, and Dubai Municipality requires Montaji registration for every health supplement made or sold in Dubai. Ask both in writing which registrations your product needs, and in what order, before submitting a dossier.
How much does EDE charge to register a dietary supplement?
EDE charges AED 100 to apply and AED 5,000 to register a product for general sale, so AED 5,100 per product, as of October 2026. A classification letter costs AED 500, and renewal after five years costs AED 100 plus AED 2,500.
How long does EDE take to approve a healthcare product?
EDE states 45 working days for its healthcare product marketing authorisation, which covers dietary supplements and herbal products. Renewal takes 15 working days and a classification letter 10 working days.
How long is a supplement registration valid in the UAE?
An EDE healthcare product authorisation is valid for five years from the committee's approval, and Dubai Municipality's Montaji registration is also valid for five years. Changes to registered particulars, such as the formula or label, must be notified or approved.
What is the DET activity code for supplement manufacturing?
The Dubai mainland activity is 1079030 Food Supplements Manufacturing, an Industrial licence in the Food industries group; resale uses 4721016 Food Supplements Trading. There is no separate nutraceutical or sports nutrition manufacturing activity, so confirm your code with DET.
Does a supplement factory need a MoIAT industrial licence?
Yes, a manufacturing project needs MoIAT's Industrial Production Licence after its local industrial licence. MoIAT lists AED 0 to apply and AED 100 for inspection, with at least 10 employees and capital of at least AED 250,000.
Does a supplement factory need an EDE GMP certificate?
The federal law requires an EDE licence and GMP certificate for a medical products factory, but no published source says whether that covers a supplement-only plant. If it applies, EDE's GMP certificate costs AED 2,000 and lasts one year. Ask EDE in writing before designing the plant.
Do I need a pharmacist to run a supplement factory?
The MOHAP-era procedure for pharmaceutical factories required licensed technical, production and quality control managers. Whether EDE applies that to a supplement-only plant is not published, so ask EDE and budget for both outcomes.
Can a foreigner own 100% of a supplement factory in the UAE?
In a free zone, yes. Article 126 of Federal Decree-Law No. 38 of 2024, read in translation, exempts free zone factories and contract manufacturers from any UAE-national shareholding percentage. On the mainland the local authority may set one, so confirm with DET.
Is melatonin allowed in supplements sold in Dubai?
No. Dubai Municipality's Annex 3 lists Melatonin as a banned ingredient for health supplements, and products indicated for sleeping fall outside its supplement scope. GSO 2571:2021 names melatonin as an example ingredient, but the Dubai list governs Dubai registration.
Is ashwagandha allowed in a Dubai supplement?
No. Withania somnifera (Ashwagandha) is entry 81 on Dubai Municipality's Annex 3 banned list. Lion's Mane, tongkat ali, GABA, valerian, St. John's wort and kava kava are on the same list, which may be revised.
What vitamin claims can a supplement label make in Dubai?
A vitamin or mineral claim is allowed only when that nutrient is present at more than 30% of the RDA, under Dubai Municipality's guideline. Health claims and structure or function claims are allowed with evidence; disease claims are prohibited.
Which words are banned on supplement labels in Dubai?
Dubai Municipality's Annex 4 bans claims across 20 disease categories and words including "Miraculously", "100% safe", "Guaranteed", "Anti-aging", "Longevity", "Memory enhancement" and "Height growth". Any prevention, treatment or cure claim is prohibited.
Does a supplement label have to be in Arabic?
Dubai Municipality requires label items in "clear English and/or Arabic language". EDE's classification service asks for the leaflet in both, so a bilingual label is the safer default for a product that may need both registrations.
Is halal certification required for supplements in the UAE?
EDE's healthcare product dossier lists a halal certificate from a certified body. Dubai Municipality may request one for animal ingredients and requires pork gelatin to be absent, so plan for certification on any product with gelatin.
Is protein powder a supplement or a food in Dubai?
Protein powders and amino acids fall inside Dubai Municipality's health supplement scope. Protein bars and shakes intended for snacks or nutrition, and meal replacements, are excluded, so the route for each SKU depends on its form and claims.
Are herbal and Ayurvedic products registered as supplements?
Not in Dubai's supplement route, which excludes Ayurvedic, Chinese and traditional medicine products. EDE's healthcare product authorisation lists herbal products, so they generally take the federal route. Get a classification letter per formula.
Do I need approval to advertise a supplement on social media?
Yes, in Dubai. Dubai Municipality requires pre-approval through Montaji for any advertisement or promotion, including social media, print and TV. Discounts, gifts and free samples of registered products are exempt.
Can I sell supplements in the UAE without my own factory?
Yes. License a trading company, such as DET 4721016 Food Supplements Trading or a free zone trading activity, and commission a licensed manufacturer. The brand still needs the product registrations, and the maker must hold its licences and GMP evidence.
Who holds the registration when a contract manufacturer makes my product?
The brand owner should. Dubai Municipality makes businesses that have products manufactured on their behalf responsible for registration, and EDE registers the authorisation holder company first. Owning the registrations lets you change manufacturer.
Does a free zone supplement factory pay 0% corporate tax?
It can. Ministerial Decision No. 229 of 2025 lists manufacturing and processing as Qualifying Activities, so sales to distributors, pharmacies, retailers and export buyers can be taxed at 0%, provided every Qualifying Free Zone Person condition is met.
Do online sales to consumers break the 0% rate for a free zone factory?
They can. Sales to individuals are an Excluded Activity and count against the de minimis limit, the lower of 5% of revenue or AED 5,000,000. Above it, the company is taxed at the ordinary rates, 0% to AED 375,000 and 9% above, from the start of that period and cannot be a QFZP for the next four periods.
Is VAT charged on supplements in the UAE?
On the research reading, yes, at 5%. Cabinet Decision No. 56 of 2017 zero-rates listed medications and medical equipment, and dietary supplements are not shown on it. Confirm with the FTA or a tax adviser.
Can a small supplement company use Small Business Relief?
Yes, with revenue at or under AED 3,000,000, for tax periods ending on or before 31 December 2029 under Ministerial Decision No. 131 of 2026. A Qualifying Free Zone Person cannot elect it, so a small free zone factory chooses one regime.
What happens if I sell an unregistered supplement in Dubai?
Dubai Municipality's guideline says violators are charged under Local Order No. 11 of 2003, and inspections check registration status and take samples. It publishes no fine amounts. Products can be recalled, and retailers ask for proof of registration.
Which free zones offer a supplement manufacturing activity?
In the registers reviewed, RAKEZ lists 1549-29 Food Supplements Manufacturing, and Dubai Science Park offers Therapeutics and Food manufacturing segments at AED 25,000 a year. JAFZA and DAFZ list medicine rows only; Meydan, IFZA, DMCC, SPC and the Ajman zones list trading only.
How much does it cost to start a supplement company in Dubai?
From AED 12,500 licence-only at Meydan Free Zone or Dubai South, AED 21,850 with one visa, or AED 24,400 on the mainland with one visa, as of October 2026. EDE adds AED 5,100 per product, and a factory is quoted per project.
References
[1] Emirates Drug Establishment (hosting). Federal Decree-Law No. 38 of 2024 on Medical Products, the Pharmacy Profession and Pharmaceutical Establishments, official Arabic text; Articles 1, 2(1), 5(1), 22, 27 and 126 to 128 read and translated for this guide. Federal Decree-Law No. 38 of 2024 (PDF, Arabic)
[2] Emirates Drug Establishment. Issuance of Marketing Authorization for a Healthcare Product: scope including dietary supplements and herbal products, AED 100 application and AED 5,000 registration fees, 45 working days, five-year validity, required documents and marketing authorisation holder registration. Verified 21 October 2026. EDE healthcare product authorisation
[3] Dubai Municipality, Health & Safety Department. Technical Guidelines for Health Supplements, DM-HSD-GU29-TGHS2, Version 2.0, issued 4 May 2024: scope and exclusions, labelling, claims and the 30% RDA rule, Montaji registration, applicant criteria, dossier, validity, advertising, and Annexes 1 to 4. DM Technical Guidelines for Health Supplements (PDF)
[4] Dubai Department of Economy and Tourism. Business activity register: 1079030 Food Supplements Manufacturing (Industrial) and its description, 4721016 Food Supplements Trading, and 2100101 Medicine Manufacturing, via the public activity record. Food Supplements Manufacturing activity record
[5] Ministry of Industry and Advanced Technology. Issue Industrial Production License: fees, minimum 10 employees, minimum capital of AED 250,000, local industrial licence requirement and stated timelines. MoIAT Industrial Production License
[6] Emirates Drug Establishment. Classification of a Medical Product: AED 500, 10 working days, eligibility and documents. EDE classification service
[7] Emirates Drug Establishment. Issue a Certificate of Compliance with Good Manufacturing Practice Standards: AED 2,000, 3 to 5 working days, one-year validity, UAE, GCC and WHO GMP guidelines. EDE GMP certificate
[8] Ministry of Health and Prevention. Licensing of a Pharmaceutical Facility (legacy page, archived): three-stage factory procedure, staff roles and fees for pharmaceutical and medical device factories. MOHAP pharmaceutical facility licensing (archived)
[9] Ministry of Health and Prevention. Services transferred to the Emirates Drug Establishment, including factory licensing and GMP certificates (archived snapshot, February 2026). MOHAP service transfer page (archived)
[10] Emirates Drug Establishment. Renewal of Marketing Authorization for a Healthcare Product: AED 100 plus AED 2,500, 15 working days, five years. EDE healthcare product renewal
[11] Emirates Drug Establishment. Registration of a Manufacturer of Medical Products: AED 100 plus AED 10,000, two to four weeks, applicant and document requirements. EDE manufacturer registration
[12] Emirates Drug Establishment and Federal Tax Authority. EDE Certificate of Free Sale of a Medical Product for Export (AED 1,000, five working days, one year), and Cabinet Decision No. 56 of 2017 on Medications and Medical Equipment (VAT zero rate). EDE export free sale certificate and Cabinet Decision No. 56 of 2017 (PDF)
[13] GCC Standardization Organization. GSO 2571:2021, Gulf technical regulation for food supplements, scope including melatonin among example ingredients. GSO 2571:2021
[14] Dubai Development Authority. Decision No. 1 of 2021 on licensing categories: Dubai Science Park Therapeutics and Food Manufacturing and Production segments at AED 25,000 a year. DDA Decision No. 1 of 2021 (PDF)
[15] Ministry of Finance. Ministerial Decision No. 229 of 2025 Regarding Qualifying Activities and Excluded Activities: Article 2(1)(a) and (b), Article 2(2)(a), Article 2(3)(a) and (b), Article 3 de minimis and Article 5(2) cessation. MD 229 of 2025 (PDF)
[16] Federal Tax Authority. Federal Decree-Law No. 47 of 2022 on the Taxation of Corporations and Businesses: ordinary rates of 0% to AED 375,000 and 9% above, and Article 18 QFZP conditions; VAT registration thresholds of AED 375,000 and AED 187,500. Federal Decree-Law No. 47 of 2022 (PDF)
[17] Ministry of Finance. Ministerial Decision No. 73 of 2023 on Small Business Relief, as amended by Ministerial Decision No. 131 of 2026: AED 3,000,000 revenue threshold, periods ending on or before 31 December 2029, QFZP exclusion. MD 73 of 2023 (PDF)
[18] Dubai Media Office. Himalaya Wellness Company expands with an AED 200 million plant in Dubai Industrial City, 25 October 2023. Dubai Media Office
[19] Gulf News. Yas Holding takes majority stake in Dubai dietary supplements maker Geltec Healthcare FZE, last updated 16 March 2021. Gulf News
[20] BusinessDubai.ae. Internal data: package prices for Dubai free zones, the Dubai mainland, Sharjah, Ajman, Ras Al Khaimah and Abu Dhabi as of 21 October 2026, and activity registers exported from DET and free zone authorities in 2026. businessdubai.ae









